• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

WHich cooling solution do I need? Water or air?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Finiamh

I am wondering what I might be doing wrong and need to do different on my setup. I will try to follow guidelines for asking to not be a total noob to this forum.

Situation:
Though my system is mostly quiet, after an hour or so of playing Battlefield 2142 and the like, the room I am in becomes steadily hot and uncomfortable.

Current setup:

Mobo-Asus A8N SLI Premium(fanless heat pipes for NB and SB)
CPU-AMD 64 X2 2ghz dual core. Not overclocked.(part # escapes me)
CPU cooling- Thermaltake P0075
Power Supply- Antec NEO HE 500
GPU- ATI Radeon X1900 XTX 512mb PCI-E
GPU Cooling- Factory fan it came with.
RAM- Generic mix totaling 1.5gb.(will upgrade after finding cooling solution)
Case- No idea of make. I have an 80mm fan on front and one on back drawing air in from front and out back. And the case has port on side panel that vents right to CPU fan.

Desired result- I am not sure if I need water cooling or better air cooling but would like to have it not heat the room as much and still stay somewhat quiet.

Thanks for input!!!

If you are wanting to keep your room temperature down I would suggest water as it disapates heat into the air less rapidly. A lot of the heat is simply stored in the water and never disapated into the air.

I just found this forum today at work so I am not aware of my idle/load temps. Will check them when I get home. Yea, I am leaning toward water. If that is what winds up being suggested overall, I will search the forum for a setup, unless somone can reccomend a non-overclock setup here.