• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

which cpu?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

larrydon

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2003
Ok, I currently am going to replace my POS 2100+ Pally with a 2100+ Thoroughbred B from Newegg. Yes, I've read the posts saying that they dont seem to OC as good as the 1700's but I am on a budget and simply can not afford ones from excaliberpc for now. Will I be ok on the one from Newegg since I really don't plan on OC it anyways (happy with just the regular speed) or what do you suggest? Like I said this isn't bout overclocking at all just a replacement until I find that it is time to goto a newer and faster MB and CPU.
 

killer7

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Location
North Carolina
If you are happy with regular speed, by all means. But if you are happy with just "regular" speed, why are you replacing your Pally to begin with?
 
OP
L

larrydon

New Member
Joined
May 2, 2003
well, the deal is that I am using a Soltek SL-75drv5(original but flashed to latest BIOS) motherboard. I got a TT Volcano 7+ and Arctic Silver 3 on the CPU and running Vcool temp readings on it. According to Vcool I idle at 34 C and under load it jumps to nearly 52 C. I have tried everything except changing the CPU (which I think is the culprit) or the MB is going bad and causing it to run hot. Wierd thing is that the heatsink is very cool to touch so that is why I think its the CPU that is screwed. The reason I need the change is that under these conditions I can't do anything but D/L and browse the net without it locking up tight.
 

OC Detective

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Location
Mauritius
Well if the heatsink is not showing any signs of heat it might not be installed properly - you should feel some warmth from it.
 

bubba gump

Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2002
Location
CA, USA
From 34C idle to 52 load? Now even the wack bios i had on my 8k3ae wasnt that bad :S

Hmm...like the detective said, try to make sure its installed right...and how thick of a layer of AS3 are u putting on there? It shouldnt be to much, but u shouldnt be able to see the core...also make sure that ur not getting like finger grease in the as3, and what ur using to spread it isnt giving off a residue or fibers because htat would take up the space thata s3 could be using for better contact...

And ive never seen the bottom of a v7+ but does it have a rough bottom? I know that shouldnt affect the spike to be THAT much, but if its like tromendously rough than that could also be it...

'Bump
 

gogadgetman

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2002
Location
Derby England
I had a volcano 7+ it benefitted from lapping. What about your case air flow? Refit your cpu cooler and download MBM5 to measure your temps.
 

Dragonprince

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Location
CT
That heatsink can't be installed correctly, it sounds more like the performance of the stock heatsink. The only reason I would replace the cpu is to get better performance, unless your OC'n the heat even at 52c (loaded) is well within AMD spec for that cpu. Id spend the money on a better video card, ram or motherboard myself....