• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which monitor should I buy?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

matas55

Registered
Hello.

I am new to OCF but I wanted to check before buying.
So I had LCD SAMSUNG SyncMaster171P, '19, 4:3, 1280x1024... I had it for about 8 years. A few weeks ago it died. So now I hooked my PC to my large SAMSUNG TV via VGA.
I need a new monitor.
I am thinking between 4:3 '19 1280x1024 and 16: .. 1920x1080 '21.5.

I have a few questions.
1. Does quality decrease with same native resolution in bigger displays (1920x1080 in '21.5 '22 '23 '24...)?
2. Would my PC run latest games 30FPS+ at 1920x1080 ON MAX SETTINGS, if it did with old monitor?
3. How would you rate this for gaming? (Response, etc....) http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/monitors/LS19CBBABV/ZA

My specs:
Q9400 2.66Ghz
ASUS GTX 285
4GB DDR2 800MHz

Last edited:
Generally 1080p is plenty up to like a 40" display, but yes, as the size increases, you lose sharpness at the same native res.

I'm not sure if you'd be able to run at 1080p on that GPU... it might work though. I'll let someone else answer that :)

That looks to be a decent panel, though, i'm not one for 4:3 screens after using 16:10 for so long.

Another important question here:
Does sharpness differ for eye at 1280x1024 native in both '17 and '19 displays?

For $250 you should be able to find an entry level IPS monitor.
I am not knowledgeable on this. In general the quality of video depends on the demands of the games played, the monitor resolution, the video card capabilities, and the settings desired.
An eight year old monitor is in the anything is an improvement catagory.