• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which Reservoir??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jmdixon85

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Location
Cumbria (UK)

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
No beneift, as res is a res in most cases. Get which one fits the best in your case and is pleasant to your eyes.
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
IMO you would be better off with seperate components instead of a combined unit. I've been very happy with this pump and reservoir. You can go with a bay res instead of the micro, as that's a personal preference thing.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Ouch... I needed to click on the links! I would also look elsewhere for seperate pump and res...

MCP655 and Swiftech Microres is what I have.
 
OP
jmdixon85

jmdixon85

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Location
Cumbria (UK)
Well I was just trying to keep things simple, cheap (and tidy) combining the res & pump. Is the single res I linked to not very good? Even for just a CPU only loop?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I dont know what pump is in there to even give you a guess. Maybe someone knows or you can look it up and find out?

I would still stay away from those combos.
 
OP
jmdixon85

jmdixon85

Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Location
Cumbria (UK)
I have to admit the single bay res pump looks on the whimpy side. The dual bay res pump looks it could handle a lot more and was recommended to me buy someone here at O/C Forums. Think I will pay the extra for the dual res, will look a lot better in my HAF932 too.
 

J-O_S-H

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
England, United Kingdom
Out of the two you linked the dual bay one is superior... its the revision 2 (is fairly new) with a quieter pump and is much better looking with the black face plate

Be aware though that you will need to bend or cut out the bay dividers to fit in a HAF932 to fit dual bay products... you may also need to remove the click lock things.

I, like everyone else, would suggest that a seperate pump and res is a better option... however I used and XSPC pump/res in my first loop and it worked flawlessly...

Another option would be to us a MCP355, LaningDDC with the XSPC reservoir top... it improves pump performance and feeds water directly into the pump without the need for tubing.

If you can get a good price on this (bidding) then it will be perfect ::

Code:
[url]http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Laing-DDC-1plus-T-12V-18W-Pump-XSPC-Pump-Top-Reservior_W0QQitemZ140359102904QQcmdZViewItemQQptZComputing_ComputerComponents_Fans_Heatsinks_SR?hash=item20ae0df1b8[/url]
 

J-O_S-H

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
England, United Kingdom
On second thought if you insist on a bay reservoir you can get this ::

Code:
[url]http://www.specialtech.co.uk/spshop/customer/product.php?productid=9084&cat=1289&page=1[/url]

Its a bit pricier... but you get a good looking bay reservoir and a good pump that many watercoolers would reccommend without taking up extra space...

There is also room for another pump in case you ever wanted to add another loop.
 

NitroMaster

Registered
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
I wouldn't get the single-bay res. That's what I have, and temps run high. I'm regretting buying it, and am getting something else. It will work, I have an i7 and a 1x120 rad, and my computer runs, just not real cool.
 

J-O_S-H

Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Location
England, United Kingdom
I wouldn't get the single-bay res. That's what I have, and temps run high. I'm regretting buying it, and am getting something else. It will work, I have an i7 and a 1x120 rad, and my computer runs, just not real cool.

Sound like your problem is not enough RAD... i7's produce lot of heat... would reccomend a 240mm or a 360mm if overclocked @ 4GHZ+
... Also that pump only runs a 200LP/H which is very low also.
 

hokiealumnus

Water Cooled Moderator
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
I wouldn't get the single-bay res. That's what I have, and temps run high. I'm regretting buying it, and am getting something else. It will work, I have an i7 and a 1x120 rad, and my computer runs, just not real cool.

Just to reiterate J-O-S-H's comments, it doesn't run real cool because you've got too little radiator for an i7. Those things need a 120.2 to do a decent amount better than air cooling. Like I said in your other thread, the amount of liquid has no bearing whatsoever on the cooling ability of your loop. None, zilch, zero.