• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Why does win XP try to access floppy drive after loading?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Duster.

Hi,
Why does my A:drive(floppy) try to access just as Windows XP has finished loading?
I'm not talking about the Floppy access that happens when the BIOS has finished, but this happens just before windows has finished loading.

I'm new to Windows XP, so maybe this is normal, I'm not sure.

I have no virus software running, so its not that.
I think it is something to do with the clearing the documents folder, I have tried clearing the doc's folder before closing down windows, but each time I switch back on, there is a new document in the clear list.I have no idea what this document is, as I can find it anywhere.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

su root

Senior Member, --, I teach people how to read your
It's normal. Most machines do it, there are some that don't.

I believe it is the computer loading the items in "My Computer", but I could be mistaken, it could be anything.. initializing the floppy drive, possibly...

OP
Duster.

Duster.

Hi Guys.
Thanks for all the help.
Ive solved the problem...........Me bad......I did it myself.
I was trying to lower the list of services that are loaded each time Windows starts.
I set the following to disable-
Automatic updates
remote registry service
secondary logon
themes

As I read it was safe to do this, But as a side affect I got the problem with the A: drive.
As soon as I enabled the above services, the A :drive returned to normal.
Do you guys know why this should happen? And is there any way for disabling the services without the a A: drive problem.

thanks again for you help.

The Revelation

Registered