• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Why is the xp so poor at multi tasking?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Fingers

Registered
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
Location
Newcastle
I was thinking of getting one of these chips, but after using my m8's 1700+ I will be saving for a p4.
Gaming is fine but come to multi task and the things chugging like a p2 300.

VERY POOR not good at all.
 

TranceBear

Big Daddy Bear Senior
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Denver, CO
Fingers said:
I was thinking of getting one of these chips, but after using my m8's 1700+ I will be saving for a p4.
Gaming is fine but come to multi task and the things chugging like a p2 300.

VERY POOR not good at all.

I am currently typing on a 1600XP at work with 24 windows open and 512mb of ram. It is running fine. There seems to be something else wrong with your friends system. What is all the specs of his system?
 

bobt17

Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2001
Location
Michigan
.....sounds like your freind might have somethign wrong with his setup then.... i run an xp 1600+ and even at default speed it zips from app to app very zippy i have no complaints whatsoever about mine :)
 

Revx

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Location
IL
bah i don't think any current higher powered processor, whether it be an amd or intel chip should have any problem multi tasking, the problem could not be the cpu but everything else lol
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Your friend either has bad components or lack of ram.

Even I can multi task. I crunch Seti, install files, extract whichever file I download, I always have 10+ browsers open, chatting on the forums, and chatting with all my friends using ICQ or MSN..

And this is all in the rig in my sig which is rather close to XP, core is based on it...

Yodums
 

paupton

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Location
southwest louisiana
I will let you guys in on a little secret. I just built a computer. XP1700, 512 ram, dvd, cdrw etc. It acted screwy. I reinstall the os and change ram. It was the CDROM. Can you believe it. This thing was like a slow boat to china. I took the cdrom out and what do you know. It blasted off.
just so you know.
good luck
 

JoeCrappa

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2001
Location
Union City, CA
yeah my friend with a 1700+ also had problems with his CD-ROM. i wonder why? it was an acer cdrom 56x i think. i had a 1600+ before i burnt it and it ran fine. your friend probably has only 64mb of RAM or something.
 

pqt

Registered
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
paupton said:
I will let you guys in on a little secret. I just built a computer. XP1700, 512 ram, dvd, cdrw etc. It acted screwy. I reinstall the os and change ram. It was the CDROM. Can you believe it. This thing was like a slow boat to china. I took the cdrom out and what do you know. It blasted off.
just so you know.
good luck

By any chance u had that CD-ROM on the same IDE channel as ur harddisk?
 
OP
F

Fingers

Registered
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
Location
Newcastle
This pc is all new

7200 hd
256 ddr mem
asus mb
fresh win2k pro sys.

Bios set to good fast settings.

It just aint snappy at all opening apps it SHOULD be instantly responding but alas theres a lag that frankly should not be there.

?

Never see this before ??? even with a poorly set up pc this should not happen.
 

Revx

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Location
IL
lol so on one case you ignorantly blame it on the processor? something is indeed wrong with your friends system if it is lagged down by multi tasking
 
OP
F

Fingers

Registered
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
Location
Newcastle
lol so on one case you ignorantly blame it on the processor? something is indeed wrong with your friends system if it is lagged down by multi tasking

????

You dont have an answer but feel it ok to call me ignorant!!?

Arse hole comes to mind.
 

Revx

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Location
IL
what do you think all the posts here have been? everyone has explained it, and it's true, the xp has no problem with multi tasking. The only explanation could be a poorly configured system, whether its all new or not makes no difference, a poorly configured system is a poorly configured system. Any high end processor out, when configured correctly, can handle multi tasking just fine, that includes durons, athlons, pIVs, cellys, tuallys. The bottom line is that your friend's system sounds like a horrible example of what any current high end processor is capable of.
 

WyrmMaster

I'm a little teapot Senior
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Montana, USA
Lets keep it civil guys, flames are not allowed.

pqt said:


By any chance u had that CD-ROM on the same IDE channel as ur harddisk?

That wouldnt make any difference, my CD drive is on the same chanel as the harddrive, and its fine. Its a common misconcetion that if you have two devices of different speeds that the whole chanel is slowed to the slower speed. This only applies if your copping from the CD to the HD, but that would be the case no matter what chanel there on.
 

Bull

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Fingers I think he needs to just put the basics in the system. hard drive, cd rom, vid card and memory and reformat. Also get the latest bios from Asus and run it at standard settings for now. See if the computer is still slow and add things in one at a time to see if any components are slowing it down. That computer should be very fast. Also benchmark it with Sandra 2002 and see how it compares to other systems. Sandra can also help if some settings are wrong and if some drivers are missing etc. I have an xp 1600 and the only thing that slows me down is the internet 56k connection :(
 

YoungstaxGx

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
try putting the memory settings back to NORMAL....or fast.... maybe the ram can't handle turbo


just a thought