• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Will a Enermax 430W Power Supply be enough for a 122W TEC Peltier on a TB1000

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
so That s it i just put a new watercooling on my A7V and here is how it looks like [img="[URL]http://www.aquastealth.com/images/customer1.jpg[/URL]"]
on my [email protected] (11.5*113) so the question is Will an Enermax 430W Power Supply be enough for a 122W TEC Peltier because i don't wana put 2 power supply i prefer to have everything in my tower and its closed with no wires and nothing above so i just bought a 122W TEC Potted but i wana know the Answer for the Power Supply

thanks a lot
 

Metaxas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2000
You need a P/S that can do 13.8Volts with 23Amps to hang with a peltier that size. A standard power supply is only 12Volts, so the peltier would not actually be working at maximum performance. You can find that kinds of power supplys around, just look, I don't think they are that expensive either. However, if you are going to run it off of a standard pc 12Volt P/S, that enermax should be plenty to keep it running. Just don't put the peltier on the same P/S with the mobo and all the other crap...that could be bad.... ;D
 
OP
R

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
Metaxas (Feb 20, 2001 11:24 p.m.):
You need a P/S that can do 13.8Volts with 23Amps to hang with a peltier that size. A standard power supply is only 12Volts, so the peltier would not actually be working at maximum performance. You can find that kinds of power supplys around, just look, I don't think they are that expensive either. However, if you are going to run it off of a standard pc 12Volt P/S, that enermax should be plenty to keep it running. Just don't put the peltier on the same P/S with the mobo and all the other crap...that could be bad.... ;D
so that is the question i know that A TEC Peltier should be powered with a 16V to have the full power but i never see around a Power supply with that Voltage i know that it existe but i dont wana pay 200$ for a P/S that can Handle 16V so 12V would be OK i think even if i m gonna lost a little bit of power of the TEC no probleme but the question is why the 430W P/S can t hadle everything connected TEC.CPU,MOBO,HD...........
what are the risk or the probleme??
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
A 430 Enermax will be plenty of PSU for what you have and what you want to do, with a little left over.
 

Metaxas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2000
Look, a TEC draws a **** LOAD of power. I don't care if it is rated for it, I would not put a super high power TEC on the same P/S that was running my mobo, drives etc. Power fluxuations are a possiblity, not to mention, your going to be working the **** outta that p/s. You can do what you want, but as far as i'm concerend, I would much rather pay for another power supply that is actually rated to handle the load of that TEC. My $0.02 cents worth.
 
OP
R

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
Metaxas (Feb 21, 2001 12:53 a.m.):
Look, a TEC draws a **** LOAD of power. I don't care if it is rated for it, I would not put a super high power TEC on the same P/S that was running my mobo, drives etc. Power fluxuations are a possiblity, not to mention, your going to be working the **** outta that p/s. You can do what you want, but as far as i'm concerend, I would much rather pay for another power supply that is actually rated to handle the load of that TEC. My $0.02 cents worth.

the probleme is not the money here i have a 250W ATX but i don t have the space to put it inside my Tower that s it so i choose the 430W because it s powerfull and may hand a powerfull peltiet so that s why i m asking??
 

jamesp

Registered
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Here is a link to enermax
looking at their specs for the 451 it's 12V is only 15A
the 661(550W) is only 24A
the best would probably be a seperate 12V supply like I use for my Radios a 35A is less than 100.00US but you would have to put it outside the case mine is about 12"X12"X6" and weighs about 15 Lbs.

BTW the lowest price for the 651 which you would need --in addition-- to one for the rest of the system is 167.00 on pricewatch
 
OP
R

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
ok but my TEC is 15,6V et 14A only so why a 430W P/S wouldn t be enough the P/S actually can supporte 12V and 15A so what s the probleme with that maybe it will work with less performance but it will work at least right??
 

proze

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2000
Location
Pretoria, RSA
the enermax would cope with the pelt, but the pelt will take a substantial performance hit from only getting 12v.. that, and they do draw a crap-load of current... it might give you problems with your current setup. 2nd psu is definitely the way to go. i don't think it would hurt to try yours if you have to.. but please take proper steps against condensation!! i speak from experience, also with a big pelt and a high-powered amd on an a7v... believe me it's important.
 
OP
R

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
yeah for condensation i m taking all the proper steps for isolation with cell foam and silicon isolation and all the stuff everything is ready but i didn t try it yet
 

bdf24

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
Location
Harford, WI.
you could always over power it a bit by taking your +12v and running it with one of your -5v for your ground. That will give you 17v's. It is very easy to do. I'm not sure how much it would effect the life span of your peltier running a few volts higher then spec though.

I would run it on a seperate psu though if I were you.
 
OP
R

rusty

Registered
Joined
May 24, 2001
finnaly i think that i will use 2 power supply to power both my TEC 122W and my computer maybe it s the best solution