• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

will Ti4200 play far cry?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

twump

Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2002
Location
CA
the ti4200 will play farcry fine with some settings maxed and some on low.
it will play with 512mb or ram but 1gb will make it smoother.
 

3line

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
Geforce4 cards have really aged well. IMO some of the greatest cards ever made.
 

Admiral Falcon

Registered
Joined
Jun 23, 2002
Geforce4 cards have really aged well. IMO some of the greatest cards ever made.

I agree that they are well-designed, but the primary reason that they've aged so well is not that the hardware was ahead of its time, but that game developers are just now starting to use DX9. Games have not kept pace with vidcard hardware, and I think any system with a Radeon 9700Pro (or nVidia equivalent) or better is going to find its main memory and CPU to be limiting factors. Remember, the guys at HardOCP got their P4 system up to 4.3 GHz before the 9700Pro became a bottleneck.

As to the original question in the thread, even the "old" Ti4200 (I have this same card myself and I love it) is more than capable of running FarCry. You might not be able to accelerate DX9-only effects, and you may have to turn down the AA or the detail settings, but it will work. Heck, until June 2003, I was running a K6/2-400 with a TNT1-based card (8 MB of video pow-ah!) Needless to say, 640x480x16 and I were inseparable until I made my upgrade. :) Even the TNT card ran everything I threw at it (mostly at minimal graphics settings) with the exception of Mechwarrior 4:Mercenaries and Freedom Force.
 

Steelpuma

Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2004
Location
Melbourne
100mbHD said:
Will a Ti4200 OCed maybe to Ti4600 speeds be able to play far cry? I know that this card only has Dx8.1 but it supports 9.

A Ti4200 @ Ti4600 speeds?
The Ti4200's are great cards, but they can't match a Ti4600. :mad:
A few lucky people can get the GPU's to that speed, But the RAM just can't do it.
 

BRIMCV

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2003
Location
GLASGOW,SUNNY SCOTLAND
I have the Ti4200 and in Far Cry on medium settings plays perfectly,i thought it didnt support Dx9 features so it fell back on to the 8.1 features whats the situations with this? It will easily play it no probz.
 

dippy_skoodlez

Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2003
Location
In front of my computer
Steelpuma said:
A Ti4200 @ Ti4600 speeds?
The Ti4200's are great cards, but they can't match a Ti4600. :mad:
A few lucky people can get the GPU's to that speed, But the RAM just can't do it.

Naa... depends on the brand, mainly.

my chaintech wont OC a bit, and got 13k in 3dmark 01, but my friends gainward was well past Ti4600 speeds, and had a hard time iwth 3dmark.

My ti4200 was still faster for some reason.

But AFAIK, it was running those speeds =)

Rivatuner was reporting 310/620. Stock cooling :drool:
 
OP
100mbHD

100mbHD

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2004
Location
Los Angeles, CA
damn....310/620 is insane, thats well passed Ti4600 speeds. I would agree that it depends on the manufacture of the card for the OCing.
 

Highlander

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Location
UK
Thats great news, will give the demo a shot and see how it goes :D
Ti4200's not mathching 4600's? eh?! Have an albatron card, 3.3ns ram stock, just benched today @ 330/650 and theres plenty more left in the card, 15k in 01 :D
 

theELVISCERATOR

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
i saw a benchemall at 1024 on a ti4200...at high settings it got 19 fps with a fast cpu...

so to use one is to run low settings to get playable framerates
 

grusso7

Registered
Joined
Nov 6, 2003
Location
Utah
My MSI TI4200 has been awesome. Look at my sig and my 3dmarks, It will oc with the stock fun at 310/590 with no problems.