• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

willy to northwood swap?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Grande Juan

Just bought a 1.6a for a future build, and since it's gonna be a few days before I can get the mobo and memory. I thought why not stick it in my current rig, run a few benches see how it stacks up to the willy sort of thing. Since I'm new at this I was wondering do I just take the willy out and stick in the northwood? Or is there more to it than that?

Inteleron

does the socket style match? aren't all (i'm not positive i'm actully asking someone that knows :D) willys 423 and northys all 478 ...if that is the case it wont happen, correct? :D

OP
G

Grande Juan

Of course they're both 478pins and my mobo supports either chip. I'm just wondering what, if any problems can I look forward to? Things like the northwood running less voltage, will this automaticly change in the BIOS, or will I have to manually configure it? Thanks:cool:

Last edited:

gone_fishin

BandSaw King
There are 478 willys but the mobo bios has to also support the northwood along with having a 478 socket. So update the bios if needed.

Sorry, you replied when I was.

You should use ASIII on the HS.

batboy

Senior Moment
The Willies were either socket 423 or socket 478, but the Northies are only socket 478.

The main thing of concern is that the Northwoods need a newer BIOS that will support them.

I'd flash the BIOS with an update before trying to swap CPUs. Then it should work ok.

Hang on to that Willy CPU until after you get your new mobo, you might need it to flash the BIOS if the Northy won't boot.

Last edited:
OP
G

Grande Juan