• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

win 98 bios

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Is there a way to put the bios on win98se back to original if you delete something that shouldn,t be deleted.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Windows 98se and the BIOS are totally seperate. What happened and what are you trying to do?
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
David said:
Windows 98se and the BIOS are totally seperate. What happened and what are you trying to do?

I know they are seperate. Deleted on board audio. got audio back but lost the volume control thats on a comp.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
hardass said:


I know they are seperate. Deleted on board audio. got audio back but lost the volume control thats on a comp.

You mean you deleted the Audio from the device manager?
Windows *should* redetect it OK.
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
David said:


You mean you deleted the Audio from the device manager?
Windows *should* redetect it OK.

I was trying to update driver for onboard audio and deleted instead of install now i have no volume control when i go to multimedia there is no option to display audio control in sys tray.
i tried going to ms-dos prompt and typing in awdflash k7vlm2aa2.bin but when i hit enter it says bad command
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
hardass said:


I was trying to update driver for onboard audio and deleted instead of install now i have no volume control when i go to multimedia there is no option to display audio control in sys tray.
i tried going to ms-dos prompt and typing in awdflash k7vlm2aa2.bin but when i hit enter it says bad command

You will need to download the awdflash program and the BIOS ROM image from the relevant site. The command is something like:

awdflash <your ROM image> /sn /cc /pr /r

I would double check though...
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
What is a rom image i don,t know how to do that stuff.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
hardass said:
What is a rom image i don,t know how to do that stuff.

Download Awdflash and the BIOS update for you board from the motherboard manufacturers website.
 

Xaotic

Very kind Senior
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
Greensboro NC
You shouldn't need to flash the bios. Just reload the motherboard drivers and it should reinstall the AC97 audio driver. If it's just the volume control missing(audio still appears in Device Mangler) then Add Remove Programs>Add Remove Windows Components and reinstall.
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Xaotic said:
You shouldn't need to flash the bios. Just reload the motherboard drivers and it should reinstall the AC97 audio driver. If it's just the volume control missing(audio still appears in Device Mangler) then Add Remove Programs>Add Remove Windows Components and reinstall.

I tried to flash bios got to part where it asks if you want to save bios i type n hitenter it tells me bad source file or source file not found
 

Xaotic

Very kind Senior
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
Greensboro NC
It sounds like the BIOS didn't update, hopefully it'll recover since no update was done. Reboot and enter the BIOS. Make sure the AC97 device is enabled. It should be under advanced features, intgrated components or something similar. Save and exit, booting into the OS. When it comes up, check Device Manager and if the audio devices aren't there, then reinstall the motherboard drives. Otherwise or afterward if needed, just add windows components, volume control.
 

Monaco

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2001
Location
Denver, Colorado
you could always just go into the Multimedia panel under Control Panel, and mark the box labeled " show volume control in taskbar" :) as long as the sound device is installed and working this is all you need.

Also- if you are going to flash, you should probably do it from a pure DOS boot. Win OS can get in the way and mess it up.
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Monster of Rock said:
you could always just go into the Multimedia panel under Control Panel, and mark the box labeled " show volume control in taskbar" :) as long as the sound device is installed and working this is all you need.

Also- if you are going to flash, you should probably do it from a pure DOS boot. Win OS can get in the way and mess it up.

When you go to multimedia panel it,s frozen it won,t let you check any options, when i open cd player and go to view volume control nothing happens.
 

Monaco

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2001
Location
Denver, Colorado
ouch, if you have corrupted control panels objects I would personally be reformatting and reistalling Windows as soon as possible.

At the very least, remove and reinstall all the drivers for your sound device.

Reading over this thread, it looks like you assumed that teh onboard sound is controlled by your BIOS- good thinking, but actually it works like any other sound card. It is controlled by driver software in windows. Reflashing the BIOS may have actually REMOVED BIOS support for your sound device, i.e. the mobo no longer sees the built in sound at all- I would verify that the board is still using the correct BIOS, and then format the drives and start over.

before you do anything tho- does the sound actually work right now?
 
OP
Hardass

Hardass

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2001
Monster of Rock said:
ouch, if you have corrupted control panels objects I would personally be reformatting and reistalling Windows as soon as possible.

At the very least, remove and reinstall all the drivers for your sound device.

Reading over this thread, it looks like you assumed that teh onboard sound is controlled by your BIOS- good thinking, but actually it works like any other sound card. It is controlled by driver software in windows. Reflashing the BIOS may have actually REMOVED BIOS support for your sound device, i.e. the mobo no longer sees the built in sound at all- I would verify that the board is still using the correct BIOS, and then format the drives and start over.

before you do anything tho- does the sound actually work right now?

Yes i can play a cd and get audio i just have no way of controling volume. I have updated bios reinstalled the via audio drivers just no volume control.
 

Monaco

Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2001
Location
Denver, Colorado
mmm, i hate to say it but i would just reformat and redo Windows. Whenever i have a weird problem like this i just reformat- i could spend a bunch of hours fixing it, or 45 minutes reinstalling OS and drivers and be done with it.

If removing and reinstalling the audio drivers doesn't get the job done, I'm not sure what will!:(