• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows 7 Enterprise.......Ehhhhh

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

infinity06

Registered
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Well i am getting back into gaming / overclocking and it seems to me that Windows XP is the only way to go to have compatibility for gaming and OS stability for overclocking.

Is anyone else running having issues> Just for starters i tried to play NBA2K10 and i get artifacts ( not the kind you get from overclocking, which im not) and when i try to install Need for Speed Shift i get microsoft.net complaints about incompatability.

i am running Windows 7 Enterprise X64Bit with 6GB Corsair Dominator Ram....I am helbent on x64 because i like have 6 to 8GB ram.
 

nikhsub1

Unoriginal Macho Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
So you are running Win 7 Enterprise which requires a VLK key yet is identical to Ultimate? Makes me think your version of Win 7 is pirated.
 
OP
I

infinity06

Registered
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Actually no its not pirated, i own an advertising business and fact of the matter is that you can buy individual keys on ebay. Search Windows 7 Enterprise
 

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
So you are running Win 7 Enterprise which requires a VLK key yet is identical to Ultimate? Makes me think your version of Win 7 is pirated.

I don't think we even want to know how many users are running pirated OSs. He would be just as guilty running Windows 7 Ultimate if it was pirated.
 

vgta88

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
crap i just forgot someone local was selling ultimate for 25 dollars i forgot about following up with the deal and got the win7 student deal by accident.
 

jediobi1

Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2006
Actually no its not pirated, i own an advertising business and fact of the matter is that you can buy individual keys on ebay. Search Windows 7 Enterprise

im pretty sure that goes against the microsoft eula and im also pretty sure that the key you bought was probably sold a bunch of times on ebay, so in turn the key is probably pirated
 
OP
I

infinity06

Registered
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
I still havent figured out which part of my original post prompted my OS and its version to be questioned. I guess we can also assume that i make counterfit motherboards, memory and hard drives.
 

nikhsub1

Unoriginal Macho Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
I still havent figured out which part of my original post prompted my OS and its version to be questioned.
The part that said ENTERPRISE. Unless you are a LARGE volume client, that version is VERY suspect. Now maybe it is legit, but you saying that you got the keys of EBAY just reinforces my suspicion. MS never intended folks to use an OS by getting the keys off of ebay? Would you agree?
 
OP
I

infinity06

Registered
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Yeah i guess it makes sense.... i just found it insulting to make an assumption when the initial topic was never addressed. Who's to say i dont work for Dunn and Bradstreet or infousa? it never got that far as to ask how i acquired the license. Now i know not to ask OS questions....

As far as ebay was concerned, i have used it since its beginning and they seem to have goten better with pirated software. I assume that when they scan auctions that they look for this stuf.

I guess the same could be said for micro center as they sell student / teacher editions of ms office yet there is no verification at the register when you pay.

For what its worth, i had to activate my software online and the fact that it worked validated that the key was good. I may be missing something but thats all the proof i needed.
 

hokiealumnus

Water Cooled Moderator
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
As far as artifacting, are you using the latest drivers from nVidia?

For the install, have you tried right clicking on the setup file, going to properties and changing compatibility to Vista or XP?
 
OP
I

infinity06

Registered
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
i appreciate it, i fixed the problem. i had to reinstall anyway because i wanted to use the intel raid controller instead of the gigabyte controller. Now everything is working better and my HD Bench numbers are through the roof.

thanks for the info
 

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Was gonna say, no problems here since i started using Win 7, glad you got it sorted out!

Windows 7 is an awsome OS!
 

SteveLord

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2005
The part that said ENTERPRISE. Unless you are a LARGE volume client, that version is VERY suspect. Now maybe it is legit, but you saying that you got the keys of EBAY just reinforces my suspicion. MS never intended folks to use an OS by getting the keys off of ebay? Would you agree?

Pretty sure Enterprise for VL customers only and even if you use a software vendor (which my state does), it ultimately comes from Microsoft.
 

ThePerfectCore

Red Raccoon Dojo
Joined
Mar 1, 2002
Location
Texas
For those that care, Windows 7 Enterprise is available for free from Microsoft, in the form of a 90 day trial.
 

7keys

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2001
Location
Montreal

Microsoft has its spies everywhere.



I thought O/Cforums had an "ask not---tell not" policy about pirated software.
 

hokiealumnus

Water Cooled Moderator
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
I thought O/Cforums had an "ask not---tell not" policy about pirated software.
Ground Rule #6: ABSOLUTELY no posting of Warez (Pirated Software) or links to Warez sites. All such sites are illegal and pose a threat to our continued existence. Some topics may seem like grey areas, however moderators may close a thread that threatens to delve into such areas.
 

amer1337

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2005
Location
Long Island, NY
windows 7 volume licensing is different from xp's its not as simple as getting any vlk key and installing it, you need a kms server with 30 clients yada yada. Unless he had a mak key which are limited to the amount of times it can be used.