• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows 7 Home, Pro, Ultimate, 32-bit, 64-bit - what to pick?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

baris_

Hello,

I'm upgrading my rig by a lot at the moment, and I was also thinking of going windows 7. Now I don't know which version to buy. I prefer to go 64-bit so I can address much more RAM to my rig in the future, but I read that not all CPU's support this? I have a Q9550, does that support a 64-bit OS? If not, then I won't buy windows 7 until I get one of the new intel chips like a gulftown or an i7. Which will be in 1 or 2 years.

If that is behind us, then what version do I go for? I just started studying computer science so I will be doing a lot of coding and such. I need to be safe that for instance, home edition, can provide me with support on software I need to use for university. Furthermore I like to watch 1080p films on my full hd tv and lots of gaming. I play competitive Counter-Strike: Source and beside that I want to play lots of games with beautiful and demanding settings. Such as Crysis or new DX10/11 games.

I don't really do much else beside that. I hope this has been enough information for you to judge what I need. If not, post it :)

Thanks in advance.

Yup yer compatible with x64. I would choose...and did choose home premium x64 OEM. OEM just cuz I'm cheap and saved some money. Professional & Ultimate don't add enough to justify their cost premiums imo.

Yup yer compatible with x64. I would choose...and did choose home premium x64 OEM. OEM just cuz I'm cheap and saved some money. Professional & Ultimate don't add enough to justify their cost premiums imo.

If you or anyone know has a valid .edu email address, you can get Windows 7 Pro x64 for 64.99 at theultimatesteal.com. Really can't go wrong with that.