• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows 7 requires more Voltage for same OC?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ravaneli

I decided to make a new thread instead of updating my old one, because other people may have the same problem.

I had been running a 64b Vista ultimate for several months at 4.0 Ghz @ 1.31V(in BIOS, `1.26 after vdroop)

Fresh install of W7 Ultimate 64b without touching anything in BIOS gave me a hell of a headache. I was getting blue screens randomly. Messed with all drivers to no avail. Finally, just to write that off as well, I increased the voltage to 1.35 in BIOS (~1.31 after vdroop). Ten days later, and not a single blue screen ever since.

Anyone has any explanation about this? I thought W7 was more power efficient than Vista?

havnt had any probs ... been running 3.4ghz on my e6600 at the same voltage on xp and win 7... havnt had any stability issues... tbh Win7 has been far more stable than xp was.... less quirky.

The OS shouldn't have any effect on how stable the OC is, the only explanation I can think of would be that vista wasn't using the CPU to the same amount that W7 is.

Anyone has any explanation about this? I thought W7 was more power efficient than Vista?

Where did you hear that? I saw a review on tomshardware that showed Win7 in any given moment using MORE power than Vista, but also getting jobs done more quickly than Vista.

So this is probably just another one of those cases where a new/diff program taxes your system in a way it had never been taxed before that exposes an instability that was already there?

well, it had longer battery life on laptops... Anandtech source

And OS DOES have effect on overclock. Ask any AMD owner that you can't OC the Phenom II past 4.0 Ghz with a 64b system, but you can do it with a 32b.