• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows 7 x64 refuses to boot after 3.0 GHz overclock? i7 920

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nugarp

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
hi guys so i just finished adding liquid cooling to my computer (pump -> cpu -> rad -> pump) using an apogee gtz i7 waterblock and wanted to OC my i7 920. however, when i increase the bclock over 150 windows refuses to load. i don't get any errors, and the computer doesn't freeze, it just gets stuck at repeating the "starting windows" animation. i do notice that my hard drive has to keep spinning up again and again, which it doesn't do at 150 and below. i feel like this should be a lot more OCable, just not sure why windows doesnt load. Under load right now i'm not exceeding 46 C @ 3GHz.

thanks for reading!

edit: my i7 is D0 and here are the rest of the specs:
Gigabyte X58 Motherboard
6gb (3x2gb) OCZ 1600 MHz RAM
NVidia GeForce GTX 275
Corsair TX 850W PSU
 
Last edited:

Boulard83

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Vcore ?
Qpi ?
Vram and timing ?

IM booting Win7 pro 64 @ over 4ghz ... Win7 isnt the issue, its your OC settings or hardware..
 
OP
N

nugarp

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
everything but the bclk is default:

CPU clock ratio: 20X
CPU Freq: 3.00 Ghz (150x20) [greyed]
QPI Link Speed: Auto
QPI Link Speed: 5.4 GHz [greyed]
Uncore Frequency: Auto
Uncore Frequency: 3000MHz [greyed]
Isochronous Support: Enabled
Base Clcok Control: Enabled
BCLK Frequency (MHz): 150
Advanced Clock Control:
- BCLK Control: Enabled
- BCLK Frequency: 150
- PCI Express freq: Auto
- C.I.A. 2: Disabled
- CPU Clock Drive: 800mV
- PCI Express Clock Drive: 900mV
- CPU Clock Skew: 0ps
- IOH Clock Skew: 0ps
Performance Enhance: Standard
System Memoryr Multiplier (SPD): Auto
Memory Frequency (MHz): 1066, 1200 [greyed]
DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD): Auto
Profile DDR Voltage: 1.5V
Profile QPI Voltage: 1.2V
Then for each stick:
CAS Latency Time: 7 (auto)
tRCD - 7 (auto)
tRP - 7 (auto)
tRAS - 16 (auto)
Command Rate: 1 (auto)
CPU Vcore: 1.23750V (auto)
QPI/Vtt Voltage: 1.200 (Auto)
IOH Core: 1.100 (Auto)
DRAM Voltage: 1.500V (Auto)
 
Last edited:

Boulard83

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Default or auto ?

first of all, try to manual the basic option.

20 x 150 (3GHz)
Uncore Freq: Dram freq x2
QPI Link Freq: lower possible
vCore 1.25
vQpi 1.275
vDram to factory spec ( or a notch higher )
Dram timing to the factory spec ( or lower - loose timing )
 

CompuTamer

Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Location
Brandon Mississippi
I hope you mean QPI link is 5.7 GT/s.... QPI CANNOT run over 4.0GHz. Period.

Try lowering your CPU multi and see if it's the same problem. If it doesnt boot, try lowering the RAM multi. If ya still get nothing, then try increasing the voltage on the NB a little...

Do you have the latest BIOS? i couldn't get Vista to boot for the life of me before i updated the BIOS on my board.
 
OP
N

nugarp

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Default or auto ?

first of all, try to manual the basic option.

20 x 150 (3GHz)
Uncore Freq: Dram freq x2
QPI Link Freq: lower possible
vCore 1.25
vQpi 1.275
vDram to factory spec ( or a notch higher )
Dram timing to the factory spec ( or lower - loose timing )

i put them on manual. now it's at:
20 x 150
uncore: 1920 (x12)
qpi: doesn't go below 5.40 (x36)
vcore: 1.25
vqpi: 1.28
vdram: factory default 1.500
dram timing changed from 7-7-7-16 to 6-6-6-15.

edit: with these settings my computer won't boot at all. the mb turns on, starts its post, then turns off. i cleared the cmos to get it running again.
 
OP
N

nugarp

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
I hope you mean QPI link is 5.7 GT/s.... QPI CANNOT run over 4.0GHz. Period.

Try lowering your CPU multi and see if it's the same problem. If it doesnt boot, try lowering the RAM multi. If ya still get nothing, then try increasing the voltage on the NB a little...

Do you have the latest BIOS? i couldn't get Vista to boot for the life of me before i updated the BIOS on my board.

so you're saying lower the 20x but increase the base clock?
i lowered the cpu multiplier to 19x, and set the base clock to 155 (~2.4 GHz) but the hard drive made it's re-spinning sounds again and windows didn't load.
 
Last edited:

Neuromancer

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Location
Tau'ri
Set Vdimm to 1.65

Just checked newegg and I dont see any 3x2GB kits of 1066 MHZ only a 1600 MHz 1.65v 8-8-8 (which for some reason they call Low voltage LOL)
 
OP
N

nugarp

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Set Vdimm to 1.65

Just checked newegg and I dont see any 3x2GB kits of 1066 MHZ only a 1600 MHz 1.65v 8-8-8 (which for some reason they call Low voltage LOL)

my bad that's the one.
edit: i increased it to 1.640 and set the bclk to 155 but it still won't load windows.
 

Boulard83

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
set the momory timing to 8-8-8 or 9-9-9

First of all we use Relax settings, when its stable, you can tweek for performance.
 

massraptor

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2004
Location
OC ,Kalifornia
everything but the bclk is default:

CPU clock ratio: 20X
CPU Freq: 3.00 Ghz (150x20) [greyed]
QPI Link Speed: Auto
QPI Link Speed: 5.4 GHz [greyed]
Uncore Frequency: Auto
Uncore Frequency: 3000MHz [greyed]
Isochronous Support: Enabled
Base Clcok Control: Enabled
BCLK Frequency (MHz): 150
Advanced Clock Control:
- BCLK Control: Enabled
- BCLK Frequency: 150
- PCI Express freq: Auto Shouldnt this be set at like 100~101 ?
- C.I.A. 2: Disabled
- CPU Clock Drive: 800mV
- PCI Express Clock Drive: 900mV
- CPU Clock Skew: 0ps
- IOH Clock Skew: 0ps
Performance Enhance: Standard
System Memoryr Multiplier (SPD): Auto
Memory Frequency (MHz): 1066, 1200 [greyed]
DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD): Auto
Profile DDR Voltage: 1.5V
Profile QPI Voltage: 1.2V
Then for each stick:
CAS Latency Time: 7 (auto)
tRCD - 7 (auto)
tRP - 7 (auto)
tRAS - 16 (auto)
Command Rate: 1 (auto)
CPU Vcore: 1.23750V (auto)
QPI/Vtt Voltage: 1.200 (Auto)
IOH Core: 1.100 (Auto)
DRAM Voltage: 1.500V (Auto)
 

Conumdrum

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Location
Small town Emlenton, PA
Remove the Mobo battery and unplug the wall socket for 15 min. Put the battery back in and try again at stock defaults and then start fresh. If it don't boot maybe you screwed the pooch in installing the watercooling. At least your doing something at the root level.

Works before WC with overclock. Installed watercooling with an overclock. Now no workie. Remove overclock, workie? No workie. Go back to air cooling workie? Yes/No.

Leaks?
 
OP
N

nugarp

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2009
Remove the Mobo battery and unplug the wall socket for 15 min. Put the battery back in and try again at stock defaults and then start fresh. If it don't boot maybe you screwed the pooch in installing the watercooling. At least your doing something at the root level.

Works before WC with overclock. Installed watercooling with an overclock. Now no workie. Remove overclock, workie? No workie. Go back to air cooling workie? Yes/No.

Leaks?

i cleared the cmos via the clear cmos button and it did reset it just fine. i wasn't OCing before on air; the temps were incredibad with air cooling. it boots fine up to bclock 150, if i set it to 151 then the hard drive just spins then rests then spins then rests. i did try OC a long time ago on air but that was with a different hard drive on a different OS; temps were too bad, too.

no leaks :).