• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows freezes at startup with gpu but not intergrated.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

faceless127

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
First thing I want to say, is its not the GPU that is broken. I have 2 R9 290X's and I've tried swapping them out. I've also tried swapping it out with a R9 370.

But my problem is my OS freezes at the screen where the 4 balls of light assemble to make the windows flag at startup. It freezes at the same spot for the windows install disc/USB.

I've taken my computer to a repair specialist and he couldn't figure out what the problem was but his best guess was my motherboards PCI Express slot was malfunctioning. He was wrong. New motherboard and the problem still continues.

When I take out the GPU and use the integrated graphics my computer boots up fine, so I did a fresh install of windows and put back in one of my graphics cards and there it is again.. it freezes in that same spot. (note I've tried with 3 different GPU's)

Things I've tried
  • Clearing CMOS
  • Replacing RAM
  • Fresh install of windows
  • Repair specialist
  • Different GPU's
  • New motherboard
  • New PSU

I have a 4790k
x2 R9 290X's on crossfire
16gb ram
ssd
Board is the Z97X gaming 7
PSU EvGA 1050G 80Gold
Windows 7

Please help me, its driving crazzzzyyyyy
 
Last edited:

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Tried a different driver version?
Can you list your full system specs please?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Yes, specs please of motherboard... brand psu... etc.

I'd try updating the bios on the board. Also, if your board has additional power for sli on the board, use it as it is sometimes required.

But these are guesses until you get us information. :)
 
OP
F

faceless127

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
My computer was running fine for over a year and it just stopped and this happened.
I've tried it with only 1 graphics card in at a time too.

Board is the Z97X gaming 7
PSU EvGA 1050G 80Gold
 

rescuetoaster

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Couple things I'd also try
1. disable onboard audio and see if it boots up
2. try to run a live distro of linux from dvd/flash drive and see if it will boot to the desktop.
 
OP
F

faceless127

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
Couple things I'd also try
1. disable onboard audio and see if it boots up
2. try to run a live distro of linux from dvd/flash drive and see if it will boot to the desktop.

I've tried an Ubuntu CD and it wouldn't boot. It gave me a very weird error that I couldn't make out.
 

rescuetoaster

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Excellent, can you copy that error exactly in here? Might give us a clue as to what hardware specifically is screwing things up.
 
OP
F

faceless127

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2016
I found the problem, It turns out it was my processor.. Maybe someone can explain to me what happened because I'm curious why/how it failed. I could use the integrated graphics on the processor to boot into windows but as soon as I put something in the PCI Express slots nothing would boot from any source.
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
I found the problem, It turns out it was my processor.. Maybe someone can explain to me what happened because I'm curious why/how it failed. I could use the integrated graphics on the processor to boot into windows but as soon as I put something in the PCI Express slots nothing would boot from any source.
Nobody can say for sure.
Best guess is the iGPU would not disable.
 

wingman99

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2003
I found the problem, It turns out it was my processor.. Maybe someone can explain to me what happened because I'm curious why/how it failed. I could use the integrated graphics on the processor to boot into windows but as soon as I put something in the PCI Express slots nothing would boot from any source.

How was the back of the Processor any discolored pads?
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
The CPU controls the PCIe lanes your GPU uses, very odd to see that as the issue though.