• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows makes me choose boot or setup...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RagingGecko

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
A few days ago my friend got his 74G raptor and we tried to install windows xp on it with his old HD still in the computer. We were then going to transfer the important stuff and wipe the drive. Booted to windows, put in the CD, and ran setup. The problem was that windows setup wouldn't detect the SATA drive no matter what we did. We installed the drivers from the mobo disk while settup was running, we let it just go, we unplugged the old HD. Nothing worked. After swapping the cable on and off multiple times, we discovered that we'd broken the tab off the raptor. The plastic around the pins just pulled right out inside the cable. Now, when we boot to his old HD, Windows asks us if we want to boot Windows XP, or Windows Setup in the windows boot manager. I have 2 questions:

1.How do we get rid of the stupid boot manager constantly asking if we want to boot windows or the setup?

2. Why couldn't we get setup to detect the Raptor? He has a MSI K8T Neo FSR. The bios could see it, but when we tried to install windows it would get to the point to chose the drive and say that no drives were found.

The first question is most important right now. He has a USB keyboard and the damn boot manager won't let him select using it, so we've been using my keyboard.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
RagingGecko said:
A few days ago my friend got his 74G raptor and we tried to install windows xp on it with his old HD still in the computer. We were then going to transfer the important stuff and wipe the drive. Booted to windows, put in the CD, and ran setup. The problem was that windows setup wouldn't detect the SATA drive no matter what we did. We installed the drivers from the mobo disk while settup was running, we let it just go, we unplugged the old HD. Nothing worked. After swapping the cable on and off multiple times, we discovered that we'd broken the tab off the raptor. The plastic around the pins just pulled right out inside the cable. Now, when we boot to his old HD, Windows asks us if we want to boot Windows XP, or Windows Setup in the windows boot manager. I have 2 questions:

1.How do we get rid of the stupid boot manager constantly asking if we want to boot windows or the setup?

2. Why couldn't we get setup to detect the Raptor? He has a MSI K8T Neo FSR. The bios could see it, but when we tried to install windows it would get to the point to chose the drive and say that no drives were found.

The first question is most important right now. He has a USB keyboard and the damn boot manager won't let him select using it, so we've been using my keyboard.

There should be an option in windows to disable the boot menu.

Try MSConfig -> Boot.ini tab. And remove the entry for the drive that has been removed.

As for the USB k/b issue - can you not enable USB k/b support in BIOS?
 
OP
RagingGecko

RagingGecko

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
I've looked everywhere in his bios and can't find a USB keyboard option. I know mine has it, and every other BIOS i've used has it, but it's nowhere to be found in his.

Now, if only I can figure out why setup wouldn't detect the raptor before his RMA drive comes in.
 

shadowdr

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2001
When you say you installed the drivers from mobo disc during setup;Do you mean you loaded them to a floppy disk and pressed f6 at the begining of the install? This is the way it must be done so that the drive can be accessed in DOS to install windows.
 
OP
RagingGecko

RagingGecko

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Yes, the mobo came with a driver disk. When setup asked, I pressed f6 and installed the drivers. Still it never detected a drive though.
 

Ian Cody

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
Location
Alaska
I dont have the same mobo, but when i used the sata driver disk provided, windows wouldnt see it. I had to run an executable from my driver CD to make the floppy.

But if the setup says the driver is loaded, and its the correct one, this probably isnt going to be helpful :p