• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

wireless file sharing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Xoligy

Ok the situation:

Main computer: has internet connection and i need file sharing
laptop: has more files i need lol

now im using the laptop for work and the internet mostly (as its not mine) now i need toi tranfer the files to the main computer to put what i need onto a disc but the computer isnt recognizing the network *scrathes head*

Now as ive said in a previous post im a newb to networks but im a quick learner and it will be helpful to know for future reference when i get my own laptop! does anyone know what could be up? if you require more info just ask ;)

First off a couple of quick questions:

What type of equipment, if any, have you setup to create a network?
Are you able to access the internet wirelessly using the laptop without any problems?
What OS is each PC using?
What exactly do you mean by "the computer does not recognize the network"? Is it that when you try to browse for other computers nothing shows up?

If you have no wireless router the easiest and cheapest way to transfer the files would simply be directly connecting them with a crossover cable. This works but while they are connected you wouldn't be able to access the internet.

If you already have them connected in a small network with a wireless router, and you have internet access on both I would say make sure you have run the Network setup wizard on both computers. You need to have file and printer sharing enabled on them both to be able to share files. By default this isn't setup. Depending on the OS version you are using there might also be some other problems, but we can go there later if needed.

thanks for replying anyway,

were using a dlink wireless router