• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Wireless hardware ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

2fast4u88

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
Ok over the summer i got my house finally built below my dad's. I share a 6 meg connection with my dad. As our internet provider is a rip off.

Right now i'm using a belkin n usb adaptor shoved in a 8in strainer from wallyworld:) Any way he has the siemens router from the dsl provider. I'm about 300 ft down the side of little hill from it. Right now my signal is 72db. Best i can get.

Any way which setup would work better? I have another router so i can share the connection with my other computer so that's not a big deal.

But would like a better signal. Would this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-Network+-+Wireless+Routers-_-ASUS-_-33320026 Flashed with dd-wrt get better signal or a card like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833315041

Wanting to keep the price as low as possible for a little better signal.

Thanks
 

I.M.O.G.

Glorious Leader
Joined
Nov 12, 2002
Location
Rootstown, OH
A directional antenna may do the trick - there are some guides to building your own cantenna you may want to look into.
 
OP
2fast4u88

2fast4u88

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
$150 a month with the 6meg connection and telephone. All it is though on the telephone is call waiting and caller id. No long distance or anything. They are a small company in town. Wish frontier ran up that far as this company is a joke. Plus we have to pay like 10bux's for 911 service. And a few other charges. http://www.hardynet.com/v.php?pg=28 That is the company we have.
 
OP
2fast4u88

2fast4u88

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
you would be better off with one of these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124115

hooked up to one of these
You could make yourself one of these Bi-Quad antennae,s
double_nearly.jpg

see here http://martybugs.net/wireless/biquad/double.cgi

I've seen that used on satelite dish's. Though it had to have something to direct the signal back to it. Also i just clicked the newegg
link and looked at the first review. Said there isn't any windows 7 drivers. Which i'm running 7 ultimate. The signal doesn't have to be much better though. With 72 db i get full speed and ping is 45ms. I would like to get right around 50db or so. I am pretty sure i could make the bi quad though. What about the connectors and wires to hook it to the card? Where could i find those?
 
Last edited:
OP
2fast4u88

2fast4u88

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
I would bet it isn't, we live in the boonies, just 1 high speed provider here. $50 bucks for 768 K down!!!

I just reread what you said. That does sound bad. Our provider blows though. As it goes down alot and on top of that can't download certian things. If you get what i'm talking about. If you do on the first time you get a letter. 2nd time service is terminated. That's with anything not just moives.:bang head
 

Jolly-Swagman

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
I've seen that used on satelite dish's. Though it had to have something to direct the signal back to it. Also i just clicked the newegg
link and looked at the first review. Said there isn't any windows 7 drivers. Which i'm running 7 ultimate. The signal doesn't have to be much better though. With 72 db i get full speed and ping is 45ms. I would like to get right around 50db or so. I am pretty sure i could make the bi quad though. What about the connectors and wires to hook it to the card? Where could i find those?

The Vista Drivers seem to work for Win7, and from the Black pigtail on the BiQuad you just connect to your card via an antennae extension lead can get from any Radio shack or Eqiv
 
OP
2fast4u88

2fast4u88

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
Sorry for all the ?'s but is the n-connector easy to get at say radioshack or do i have to order it. Does it matter about the style or material it's made out of?

Also would the back piece need to be copper? I can get stainless for pretty much nothing. Along with the tubing?
 

Jolly-Swagman

Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2007
you sould be able to get all at Radioshack, and yes I suppose you could use stainless for the back part
 
OP
2fast4u88

2fast4u88

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
I can get it for free is why i asked. Though i could stick with what works. Where could i pick up a sheet of copper like that?

I went to radioshack just checking around and didn't see anything like a n-connector. Though i never asked. I was looking for the n-connector they use on the bi-quads up on the copper piece.

The link you linked uses coax instead. So where does the n-connector go? On the end of the coax? A pic of the n-connector i need would help. I just clicked on the other link to the guys build sheet. And i see he used a blank circuit board. That looks easier so where could i buy that?

One other ? Instead of using the card. How about that router i linked the first time. Flash it dd-wrt and use it so i connect more than one computer. Then use the antenna you linked hooked to it?