• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Won't boot when FSB set to 133

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Blue Jester_2112

Hey all,

Just got done putting a dual system together for a friend. The system seems to work just fine when the FSB jumper is set to 100, however it won't when its set to 133. Only gives a blank screen.

Here are the specs:

K7D
2 XP 1700 palamino's
2 512mb sticks of crucial non registered pc2100
Sparkle 350w PSU
Gainward ti4200
WD 80gig SE
32x Cyberdrive

That's all that's in the system. Like I said, it boots fine when the jumper on the mb is set to 100, but not 133. The board gives 3 green LED's and 1 red LED and no signal to the monitor.

Any ideas? This is my first time putting a dual AMD system together so I could be missing something obvious.

Oh, and I've tried both chips in other single set ups and they work fine, also tried it with just one stick of ram (tried both sticks that way). I've also tried unplugging the HD and CD-Rom from the board to see if perhaps it didn't have enough power to boot. Also tried a GF3 ti200 vid card as well.

Help please :)

insufficient power supply...

You need at LEAST 450 watts, preferably 500. The ONLY exception, that I know of, is the Antec True430.

i disagree with the more power issue...

a 350 watt sparkle puts out 454 watts (tested by larva in this forum and toms hardware)...

in addition i ran a dual p3 at 1.62 ghz with 3 hard drives, cd writer, floppy, zip drive, 1 gig of RAM, 5 case fans, o/c'd 8500le video card, 5.1 sound card, tv card, and probably some other stuff i am forgetting ;)....

all of that with a 350 watt fortron...for over a month with no problems...

also, when he unplugged everything but the video card, ram and cpus....it still wouldn't hit 133...that's not that much power consumption...