• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Woot! Dualie OC Goodness!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
I finally got my parts from NewEGG.com. I highly recommend
them if you don't have any local stores to give you some
OC Goodness with some High End Parts.

Anywho, I recently got this VP-6 with a pair of PIII 933s
and some OCZ PC-150 Gen 2 or 3. But with one Alpha
something aruther with a Delta that kept sliding off the
processor die cause it was so damn heavy, and one "stock"
PIII heatsink with a Delta black label wannabe that had a
bum clip that barely held the heat sink on.

So I ordered a pair of these on the recommendation of
Hoot from here in the forums:

35-114-002-02.JPG


http://www.dynatron-corp.com/proddetail.asp?cid=6&sku=DY1206BH-625

Without even a voltage increase on ANYTHING, I'm running
(2) 256MB sticks, and now pushing 155Mhz FSB with all
memory timings on FAST and everything else cranked!
I can push the memory one notch higher, but I have to run a
single stick of 256 to do that, and right now I'm using this
system for some video editing-I need the memory.

I'd say that's a pretty damn bad assed board and memory
combo, and these Dynatron heat sinks at $18 each are the
*BEST* OC upgrade bang for the buck I've had yet!!

Look out top 10!
 
OP
Lonely Raven

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
Since processing WUs is something that takes stability, I'm not
going to bench it till it shows me that it can run for more then a
WU or two. But seeing as how I'm posting from the machine now,
I guess it's OK! LOL

I figure since this is a dualie machine that I should drop the
benchmark WU into two folders and let it have at it times2?

I'll do it when I get home tonight!

Wish me luck!

Oh!

P.S. I heard that the MPX board will ONLY take MP processors.
Is that true? And what's the Overclocking like?
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
No the MPX takes a variety of chips: XP's, Duron's, MP's.

It is different from the other chipsets as it can overclock! :D

Pretty positive its good at ocing! :D
 

LandShark

Super Shark Moderator
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Location
Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
just got a MPX chipset mobo this week, A7M266-D revision 1.04. running a pair of XP1800+ right now. BIOS said it's a MP chip! currently 'only' burning in @ 140MHz FSB right now w/ stock volt. will try 145MHz over this weekend and see..... :rolleyes:

best bang for buck dullies! ;)
 
OP
Lonely Raven

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
Any other MPX boards that peeps can recommend for an
overclocker such as myself? I'm thinking about ditching my T-bird
1.333 @1600 in favor of a dualie XP if they can work without
issue on the current MPX boards!!
 

LandShark

Super Shark Moderator
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Location
Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
Asus' A7M266-D is a very good mobo (so far, but w/ some glitches too), and quite a few members here r using it. Toomny, Audiman, Jon (has 3, i guess...).

i only have it for less than a week, but already loving it. "might" get a second one too.
 
OP
Lonely Raven

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
I just had my KR7A-RAID in my water cooled system die on me
due to some voltage issues. Damn thing never ran close to
5 volts, and today it just dipped below 4.71 and then died after
a lockup!

I'm hoping I can get this swapped out fast. That's one less
cruncher for me this weekend alone!!

Plus it's my main gaming and Lanning Rig!

Maybe it's time for me to look into some new dualie XP schtuff!
 

Yodums

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2001
Location
Ottawa, Canada
Lonely Raven said:
I just had my KR7A-RAID in my water cooled system die on me
due to some voltage issues. Damn thing never ran close to
5 volts, and today it just dipped below 4.71 and then died after
a lockup!

I'm hoping I can get this swapped out fast. That's one less
cruncher for me this weekend alone!!

Plus it's my main gaming and Lanning Rig!

Maybe it's time for me to look into some new dualie XP schtuff!

That would be your PSU 5v rail sinking too much, and causing instablity. Look into a 550watt or something, I think your drawing out too much power.
 
OP
Lonely Raven

Lonely Raven

If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Sen
Joined
Feb 2, 2002
Location
Wheaton, IL
I think that's pretty bogus.

I can measure the 5v out of the PS and it's perfectly 4.99v.

Plus, this is only an XP with 3 hard drives, and a CD-R with
a SCSI card, SB Live, and Geforce 3.

When I was pressed for cash (think laid-off), I was running
a similar system on an IWILL board on a 250w Power Supply.
I truely can't imagine a 400w not being enough with a "typcal"
system.

I mean, I could be wrong, but AMD certified PSs are minimum 350.