• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Worst cpu overclock

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Anyone have a crappy cpu that won't overclock at all, or very little?

First off, I am not one who likes to overclock the PCI or AGP, so my overclocking is done only at FSBs of 133, 166, or 200, with adjustments to multiplier.

My 2200+ will only make it to 1895Mhz at 133FSB (.5 multiplier OC).

At 166FSB, it will make to 11 multiplier (1852Mhz).

At 200FSB, it tops out at 9 mulitplier (1825Mhz). It will run at 9.5 multiplier (1927Mhz) but is not stable at up to 1.8V (I haven't tried higher than 1.8V because of heating concerns).

Currently running at 200x9 because system performance is fastest because of increased memory bandwidth.
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
You most likely have a TbredA (you can run GCPUID in my sig to confirm this), if it is a TbredA then that will explain the poor overclock, what these chips like is very high voltage, but even that won't get u much if any over 2GHz
 
OP
timzak

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
According to GCPUID, it is a 'B' Tbred.

Standard:
Family 6, Model 8, Stepping 1
Extended:
Family 7, Model 8, Stepping 1
Process: 0.13
Revision: B0

Is it worth it to try and go above 1.8V?
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
If this is a TbredB then something really weird is going on. these should hit 2GHz without much problem. What is your power supply and what are the voltages that you get on your +5v and +12v lines when under full CPU load?
Either you got a really dud CPU, or there's something else that doesn't let you go any higher. What is the chipset on that Abit mobo? The only thing I can see that could cause it to not be stable is the power supply, as you got a really power hungry video card, that could be the problem.
 
OP
timzak

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
It's an Enhance 300W power supply.

Voltages under full load:
+5: 5.05V
+12: 12.10V

Mobo chipset is KT600

Could be the P/S. I know it's a good quality 300W, but maybe I need more watts?
 

mfjonny

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2003
Location
California
also, what kind of cooling are you running? what are your cpu temps? a big big big step to OC is to have decent cooling. especially, if high amount of extra voltage is necessary.

how much ddr voltage are you running? if yer sticks are xms3200c2, corsair rates their sticks at 2.7 and recommends upto 2.8 volts.

try memtest to see if your stick are running error free.
 

Kenshiro

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Did you increase your core voltage?? You didn't mention anything about core voltage??
 

Sentential

Contributing Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2003
Location
Knoxville, TN
ummm, you do know that you have a VIA board right??? What is you PCI bus at? You do know that VIA dosnt lock the bus.
 
OP
timzak

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Cooling: Cooler Master HHC-001. Not the best, but pretty decent w/5800rpm fan.

Large (4") exhaust fan in addition to P/S fan. Not sure of CFM rating, but it is pretty high as it is the loudest fan in the case and produces a pretty hefty breeze when I put my hand behind the case.

No other case fans (no intake fan but the case has a large opening at bottom front that you can feel air sucking into).

Currently the cpu is idling at 39C. I've seen it get as high as 47C under Prime95 (at 200x9.0 with 1.65V).

The system is stable at 200x9.0 1.65V.

When testing at 200x9.5, I got the following results under Prime95:

1.65V: fail (lockup during bootup)
The system boots into Win2K SP4 at 1.675V and higher
1.675V: fail Prime95 with error message
1.70V: fail Prime95 with error message
1.725V: fail Prime95 with a hard lockup
1.75V: fail Prime95 with a hard lockup
1.775V: fail Prime95 with a hard lockup
1.80V: fail Prime95 with a hard lockup

DDR voltage is at 2.65 in the bios (reported values via software are 2.69V).
 
OP
timzak

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
This is a KT600 chipset. It is designed for DDR400 and correctly runs the PCI bus at 33Mhz and AGP at 66Mhz when clocked at 200FSB.
 

johan851

Insatiably Malcontent, Senior Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Seattle, WA
You're right, that does seem very odd. Try upping your memory voltage a little, although I'm not sure if that'll help. It *could* be heat, but otherwise...it's starting to look like a dud CPU. :-/
 

Kenshiro

Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
it does sound like that chip is screwed up. O/C should not be such a problem. But the KT chipset are always known for not overclocking too well with high FSB. Take mine for instant. My mobo uses the KT400. The FSB can't go above 141 stable. I think you sould try to lower the FSB, and increase the multiplier and see if you can break 2Ghz stable. You might have the same problem as I do.

I have the 1800 DLT3C JIHUB o/c to 2.26Ghz, 16 * 141 @ 1.75 Vcore.
 
OP
timzak

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Just a quick note: I changed the memory timings to SPD and so far no crashes in Prime95 after a little over an hour of running. It's always crashed within about 30 minutes before. Maybe it's the memory. It's rated at 2.0-3-3-6 by Corsair and that's what I've been running it at. Now at SPD it's set to 2.5-3-3-8. This is with 2 x 512MB CorsairXMS3200c2. I know their specs are with a single module. Maybe running 2 modules, I need to relax the timings more.
 
OP
timzak

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Another update:

That'll teach me to try and overclock a cpu without lowering the timings on the ram. Duh...

Okay, 1900Mhz doesn't seem to be a problem at 1.725V. I just played with 2000Mhz a bit and kept erroring out in Prime95 within 5 minutes, up to 1.825V. At 1.850V, it took 26 minutes for Prime95 to error out. Temps at 1.85V: 46C idle, 55C when it errored out at 26 minutes. I won't push it past 1.9V.

Am I pushing my luck?
 
OP
timzak

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Update: at 1.875V, Prime95 halted after an hour and 6 minutes. I'm at my last straw with 1.90V right now.

BTW, it seems I'm hitting my P/S limit too at these voltages. At idle, +12V is still okay at 12.03V, but under load, it drops to about 11.92V. +5 is okay under load, still at 5.05V.
 

UnLoadeD

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Location
miwest, usa
I think you need more voltage for your ram, 2.8 or 2.9 volts. That should allow you to use the tighter timings. Another thing to check is the cooling on your NB as FSB goes up.

peace.
unloaded
 
OP
timzak

timzak

Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Okay, I ran at 2Ghz for a few hours on Prime95 at 1.90V and got a hard lock, but I was browsing a few websites so I don't know if I did it by pushing the system while it was under load, or if it would've locked up if I wasn't reading 3 websites while it was stress testing. But I got to thinking, all I want is 2000Mhz and this mobo always runs a couple Mhz higher than the settings. I've been trying to run at 200x10, which actually comes out to 202.8x10 or 2028. So I backed the FSB to 198 in the bios so it boots up at 2008Mhz. I backed the voltage to 1.85V and it's been running Prime95 without problems for the past 5 hours.

Funny how 20Mhz less can come so much easier. If it continues stable at 1.85V, I'll back it down til I find the lowest stable voltage at 2008Mhz.
 

dalilman52

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2003
Location
Houston
to me, it sounds like u have a bad/lower end stepping, like for the 1800 the jixib is about the worst b stepping u can find, the new locked ones are also pretty bad at OCing