• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Would I benefit from a side intake case fan?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ed.howell

I notice that when I remove the side panel of my case that my cpu temps drop about 6-7 degrees C. If I mounted a side intake case fan would this help me or hurt me? Is that a good way to test, by removing the side panel? I have a Hyper 6 HSF and the fan on the HS would be perpendicular to the side intake fan and the bezels of the fans would also line up. Would the fans being this close to each other actually hurt cooling?
I have a Coolermaster Wavemaster case and the fan's are as follows, 2 80mm front intake fans about 30cfm each, 1 rear exhaust 80mm fan about 30cfm, 1 top exhaust fan 80mm about 25cfm, and 2 80mm 35cfm each fans blowing across my Hyper6 HS the one towards the front of the case pulling air thru the HS and the one towards the back of the case helping pull the air thru the HS and out the rear.

Thanks in advance!!

squirtle632

Simple solution........
Get a box the size of your side panel.
Cut a hole for the fan and mount it on the cardboard.
Seal crack with tape and check temps.
Compare.
If it works THEN cut into your case door.

mtb856

Yes, having a side panel fan does help to lower your temps. What it does is bring the ambient temp air from your room and blow it to your cpu fans and video card, which lowers the temperature of the air entering the HSF... lowering your cpu and gpu temps. Some people only have one fan, but if you don't have a window... I would suggest putting 2 92mm fans in your side panel... one in the general area of the cpu and the other by your graphics card to eliminate the dead spot in your case cooling.