• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Wow the most expensive CPU of our time

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

shortyes

You know a lot of people have been saying this and that about intel and I have to admit I am one of them. Most of my systems are AMD and the only reason for it is the price. I'm a poor college student and can't spend the 200 to 400 for a CPU. Then again I spend that same amount on a Video Card, LOL.

Recently there have been so many rumors about AMD64 cpus FX and what not and intel's EE. Both have their strong and weak point.

I was recently surfing Neweggs for parts I might buy when I get a job next semester :p

When I came across the price of the Intel 3.2 EE

I for one am thinking back 7 years when new cpus were like 800 dollars. This has got to be the most expensive Desktop CPU for the average job or even the Overclockers of this year and maybe next.

Wish I could try it out but I saw the **This item is NOT REFUNDABLE, exchange for same exact item only!!**

I would pay 15% restocking to have this baby for a month :D

boffin2163

Do you think its non refundable so when people find out how much theyve been riped off they cant send it back lol

edit: just worked out you could buy a new AMD proc with just the restocking fee of that thing :eek:

MetalStorm

The EE is just like a beefed up P4, which can't be a bad thing - in comparison to the FX 51, they both win and lose different benchies, but they seem about the same in terms of performance - though I would chose the FX 51 because I play a lot of games, and that is where the FX 51 is the daddy it seems...

What I have just said is not an invite to a FX vs EE debate btw.

OP
S

shortyes

But still to be able to say I have the 3.2 EE in my machine will raise some eye brows ^^