• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

WU what does that mean?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

f155mph

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2001
I been running seti for like a month now but I don't understand what Work Unit (wu) mean. Does it mean the samething as Data Unit? On average it takes me 17hrs to complete one Data Unit. I am using a [email protected], does that seem right? I read some post where people can do a WU in 2.6 hrs with the same chip and speed as mine. So can someone please enlighten me.

Thanks
 

vodka314

Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2002
Location
Strathmore AB
A work unit is the same thing as a Data Unit. If it is taking you 17hours to complete one of setis work units on a 2.4ghz northwood, there is something wrong. Make sure your ram speeds are set right, make sure that you dont have your computer set to shut off the harddrives after a certain time passes. Thats all I can think of right now, but Im pretty tired, Ill probably add more to this tomarow.
 

Basher

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Location
Mt. Pleasant Pennsylvania
f155mph said:
I been running seti for like a month now but I don't understand what Work Unit (wu) mean. Does it mean the samething as Data Unit? On average it takes me 17hrs to complete one Data Unit. I am using a [email protected], does that seem right? I read some post where people can do a WU in 2.6 hrs with the same chip and speed as mine. So can someone please enlighten me.

Thanks
A work unit is the data packet that seti sends you to "decode". you must be running the screensaver because your times are way off should bve a lot lower. You have 2 options....

1. do this suggested

2. goto display properties, click screensaver tab, click properties button(maybe settings I forget) make sure check box is checked to goto blank screen after x minutes.

I would set up the files as per the link to set up a cache of WU's. Your choice.
 
OP
f155mph

f155mph

Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2001
Yes i am running the SS version. So is there a way I can run that and still do it fast?
 

jazztrumpet216

Senior @ss
Joined
Sep 23, 2001
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Yeah, but my P4 1.8 (Willamette) still did WU's in 6-7hrs with the SS version. I'd double check to make sure you're running that all the time and not just when the screen saver kicks in. My times nearly cut in half when I D/L'ed the CLC though, that's really the best advice I can give ya.
 

Basher

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2001
Location
Mt. Pleasant Pennsylvania
f155mph said:
Yes i am running the SS version. So is there a way I can run that and still do it fast?


do this

2. goto display properties, click screensaver tab, click properties button(maybe settings I forget) make sure check box is checked to goto blank screen after x minutes.


and have it always run. Will be faster. Nice thing about the clc is you can shut it down when you need to you should notice no difference doing small tasks ie surfing with the clc running.