• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

x800 XT problem...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SilentandDeadly

Registered
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Location
at home...
I posted this over at the GameFAQs PC board, but still couldn't get it fixed. My video card keeps causing Far Cry and Painkiller to crash, but so far I haven't crashed on any other games. I sent an e-mail to ATI but haven't gotten a response yet (sent it yesterday...). I'm thinking it might be a hardware compatability problem, but I'm not sure yet. Here's the topic on GameFAQs to get you up to speed on what I've tried so far: http://boards.gamefaqs.com/gfaqs/genmessage.php?board=2000110&topic=15145059

I'm going to see if I can use this card with my sister's computer, she's the only one I know who has a computer able to play Far Cry. :bang head
 

Macadonious

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Location
Georgia
SilentandDeadly said:
I posted this over at the GameFAQs PC board, but still couldn't get it fixed. My video card keeps causing Far Cry and Painkiller to crash, but so far I haven't crashed on any other games. I sent an e-mail to ATI but haven't gotten a response yet (sent it yesterday...). I'm thinking it might be a hardware compatability problem, but I'm not sure yet. Here's the topic on GameFAQs to get you up to speed on what I've tried so far: http://boards.gamefaqs.com/gfaqs/genmessage.php?board=2000110&topic=15145059

I'm going to see if I can use this card with my sister's computer, she's the only one I know who has a computer able to play Far Cry. :bang head

Be fore you test eles where, Try this; Right click on the desktop and go to properties. Then clcik on settings. This will be your ATI control panel. Set the 3D settings to there default settings and apply. Then run FarCry. It should work.
 
OP
S

SilentandDeadly

Registered
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Location
at home...
Still broke. :( I'll try putting it in my sister's computer later, my dad doesn't want me to mess around with an already working computer. ¬_¬
 

verbatim

Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2003
Location
Western Australia Perth
This is the third thread I've read here where people have x800 xt's and painkiller and farcry are crashing! I just ordered one.......To play these games! I 'm worried now... :-(
 

[email protected]

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Location
Orlando, FL
verbatim said:
This is the third thread I've read here where people have x800 xt's and painkiller and farcry are crashing! I just ordered one.......To play these games! I 'm worried now... :-(

Yeah... is everyone just retarded, or the cards really have issues?
The games are faulty in most cases. Install the 1.2 patch in Far Cry. That should fix Far Cry.
 

Dragonprince

Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2002
Location
CT
SilentandDeadly said:
My video card keeps causing Far Cry and Painkiller to crash, but so far I haven't crashed on any other games.

I'm thinking it might be a hardware compatability problem, but I'm not sure yet.

That makes no sense. If the hardware was bad nothing would run.

You dont list your rig. Tell us what you've got the XT plugged into for a system and we can probably help a lot more. Also it would be nice to know what you pulled out to put the XT in...

To me it sounds like software issues....
 

Macadonious

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Location
Georgia
Dragonprince said:
That makes no sense. If the hardware was bad nothing would run.

You dont list your rig. Tell us what you've got the XT plugged into for a system and we can probably help a lot more. Also it would be nice to know what you pulled out to put the XT in...

To me it sounds like software issues....
The problem with FarCry 1.2 is that it has no or severly limited sound
 

shortyes

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2002
Location
Tampa, FL
It might be power like all the other problems I am seeing with the new hardware. AKA Farcry and Painkiller are some of the newer games using much more of the card capacity than other games and might crash if there is not a good PSU behind it.

Surfing online and playing some old games is okay but when running a 3d game especially the newer 2.0/3.0 games it will suck more power and might crash. Seeing this alot now.

Give us your system specs
 
OP
S

SilentandDeadly

Registered
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Location
at home...
Knew I forgot something. *_*
My system's a P4 2.53 GHz "B" Northwood core
1024 MB PC-1066 RDRAM
Asus P4T533-C
431W PSU (I think... either that or a 460, pretty sure it's 431 though)

I had a 9600 XT in here. When I first put the x800 in I had the trouble with FC, so I put the 9600 XT back in and it worked again. It's definitely something with this card. :l I just hope it's not defective... It looks like it'd be a long wait before I could get an exchange. :x
 

Ducatti

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Location
Phoenix, AZ
did you uninstall the drivers for your ATI card before you installed the X800?? Download driver cleaner, uninstall everything ATI and boot into safe mode, run driver cleaner and then boot back into windows normally and install everything from the CD-Rom, then update to latest cat drivers and see what happens.
 

Section8

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2004
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=314310

Look there. Already me and another member have several of the same issues. My card will not play Far Cry or Painkiller either without crashing. I also can't benchmark using 3DMark2003 or AquaMark3. It just crashes to the desktop. I can Bench using 3DMark2001 but get REALLY low numbers. I was getting like 10K-17K. It would vary? My 9700 Pro will do 17,500 no problem. I did everything I could do. Fresh install, new drivers checked my PC Power and Cooling 510 with a multimeter<funny just typing that is a joke....I think somehow they sent out a bad batch of GPU's.
 

Ducatti

Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2003
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Also, since you had a 9600XT in there before... is fast write disabled in the BIOS? The 9600 supported it so it might be on.. if so, turn it off
 
OP
S

SilentandDeadly

Registered
Joined
Aug 12, 2002
Location
at home...
That's one thing I noticed: I couldn't find FastWrite in the BIOS, yet I read a guide somewhere (or maybe it was a post on another forum... can't remember) where to find it, but it wasn't where they said it was. (AwardBIOS, I also don't remember the exact path, but it was supposed to be under chipset configuration or something...) I DID however install the Omega 4.7 and turned FW off when I installed it, so they should be off.
 

theELVISCERATOR

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Yeah... is everyone just retarded, or the cards really have issues?
The games are faulty in most cases. Install the 1.2 patch in Far Cry. That should fix Far Cry.


terminator why are you giving out BAD INFO
on ati cards?
you know 1.2 hoses many ati systems..
 

Section8

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2004
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
SilentandDeadly said:
That's one thing I noticed: I couldn't find FastWrite in the BIOS, yet I read a guide somewhere (or maybe it was a post on another forum... can't remember) where to find it, but it wasn't where they said it was. (AwardBIOS, I also don't remember the exact path, but it was supposed to be under chipset configuration or something...) I DID however install the Omega 4.7 and turned FW off when I installed it, so they should be off.


Have you tried it with them on? You may get better scores with them on? Don't know but I would try it both ways.
 

NooBish

New Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2003
Location
San Francisco
Intersting, I tried the omega 4.7's at first too they but gave me all kinds of errors about not reconizing the rage theatre chip, and performance was just awful, so out they went. Was there any voodo you had to do to get 03 to work? does it bench consistently now, or was it a one shot kinda deal?

Section8: Are you dead set on the ultra? I've read alot of good things about the GT, and its available at Evga now.
 

Sentential

Contributing Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2003
Location
Knoxville, TN
Could it be a PSU issue? the x800 draws a crap load more power than a 9600XT. Try using a program like "Motherboard Monitor 5" and tell us what your +12v rail reads.

My guess is that your PSU is shot. Because if your vcard were really broken, it wouldnt POST or it would artifract.

theELVISCERATOR said:
terminator why are you giving out BAD INFO
on ati cards?
you know 1.2 hoses many ati systems..

Ummm ya, 1.2 is a *bad* idea. If anything stick with 1.1 Is your patched to 1.2? that might be the issue as well.
 

Section8

Member
Joined
Jun 13, 2004
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Well If I can get the Ultra I will but if not then I will do the eVga program and get the GT then step up to the Ultra when they are more available. Someone said something about maybe a PSU issue. Well that is not my problem I can put a multimeter on my 12V rail and it barely moves. Stays right at 12.1 almost all the time. Usually 12.1 to like 12.5. It is a PC Power and Cooling 510 Deluxe so my issue is something else like a BAD CARD!!!! I have the latest BIOS, Latest drivers and a fresh install of WinXP Pro and SP1 with DirectX9.0b. This card of mine is just a DUD.