• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

XP2000+ AGOIA questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Computer Ninja

Registered
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Location
Shelby Township, MI
I just bought an XP2000+ AGOIA today to replace my Athlon 1.4-C.

I have an Abit KG7-RAID board with a fairly decent water cooling setup going on. I have a DangerDen Maze2 water block and one of those res/pump combos working with a heater core that has a shroud and a 120mm fan sucking air THROUGH the core.

I have had good luck with the 1.4-C as far as overclocking once upon a time. I took it as high as 10x168 to 1680 and was stable for a while at 10x163. This was with ONE Crucial PC2100 DIMM with ThermalTake ram heat sinks and a heat spreader on it. I had the core voltage up fairly high, with a voltage mod, too. I also had the ram's voltage up to 3V.

Now, my question is this? Without any voltage mods, and keeping the ram at 3v and the CPU at 1.85, shouldn't I be able to do better than 12.5 (13 in the BIOS) x 145? I even tried with just one of my two 256MB DIMMS, and no luck.

I thought XPs overclocked a bit easier???

Am I just doomed in having this KG7 board? Do I need to get a board that will let me do 5:2:1 on the divisors so that I can unlock my CPU, snag some Corsair PC2700 XMS memory and then be off to the races?

Looking for advice, thanks.
 

Bon3thugz43v3r

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Location
The Sunshine State
I got the same stuff as you except im on air. I unlocked and ran my 2000+ AGOIA at 11 x 164. I use 1 stick of crucial 512 with heatspreaders. You cant go any higher than 145 on 12.5 multiplyer because the operating system wont allow it.:mad:
 

Bon3thugz43v3r

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2002
Location
The Sunshine State
2000 and XP will give you a bluescreen about a memory dump or your computer going to fast ( the most stupid error i have ever seen) and you cant get into your operating system. Unlock your chip then u can get more than 145 fsb when running on a diff. multiplyer than 12.5:beer:
 

jlin453

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
raising the fsb on my 12.5 multipliar was hellish. I could barely go above 140 without stuff crashing(ie: /windows/system is corrupt or missing....had to spend 25 minutes to restore to an older point)

Now that I unlocked and lowered to 11 or 11.5, fsb's can go a lot higher.
 
OP
Computer Ninja

Computer Ninja

Registered
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Location
Shelby Township, MI
Y R U only running it at 1.76 with that good memory of yours? I'm at 12.5x143 at the moment. I need to unlock it. Can I get the stuff I need to unlock it at Radio Shack?
 

jlin453

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
Computer Ninja said:
Y R U only running it at 1.76 with that good memory of yours? I'm at 12.5x143 at the moment. I need to unlock it. Can I get the stuff I need to unlock it at Radio Shack?

I messed up on the unlocking process so right now, I'm stuck at 11.5

I baught a rearwindow-defogger kit at autozone. Works really good.
 

jlin453

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
Computer Ninja said:
Okay... the rear window defogger kit has the proper conductive pen sort of thing you need?

The rear window defogger kit has conductive paint, not a conductive pen. You'll have to use tape to shield each bridge off, etc.
 

Toysrme

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2001
Ughhhh I have 2 256m sticks of original batch of Crucial 2100 DDR.
KG7 & a 2000+
If you're having trouble booting into Windows XP and getting blue screens at "rediculously" low FSB (140 or less) and a CPU that you know will run faster.

Then stop using NTFS and go back to Fat32. My HD never would finish loading windows past 135/140 with NTSF. 150 is no problem with it on Fat32. Try that if that's your problem.

I only say that because I think AGOIA chips have at least descent chance of hitting higher than 1850 with good cooling.

-Toysrme
 

jlin453

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
Toysrme said:
Ughhhh I have 2 256m sticks of original batch of Crucial 2100 DDR.
KG7 & a 2000+
If you're having trouble booting into Windows XP and getting blue screens at "rediculously" low FSB (140 or less) and a CPU that you know will run faster.

Then stop using NTFS and go back to Fat32. My HD never would finish loading windows past 135/140 with NTSF. 150 is no problem with it on Fat32. Try that if that's your problem.

I only say that because I think AGOIA chips have at least descent chance of hitting higher than 1850 with good cooling.

-Toysrme

Why would fat32 allow for higher fsb? Englighten me :)
 

Toysrme

Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2001
I forget the reasons why, sorry. Do a serach on it. There are quite a few trade offs to both sides. Read up on that too.

-Toysrme