• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Yes! :)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DDR-PIII

Disabled
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Location
6p6
HAHA i finally got my LAN setup up prefectly :) i've got internet on both of em and I can access files on both computers... i know it sounds like an easy task its just that it wasnt giving one computer the right IP "192.168.0.2" it was giveing it some other one :p but i figured it out and im not gonna play with these settings agian.. its just to much of a head ache :p lol
 

himura-dono

Xtreme refugee
Joined
Apr 18, 2002
Location
davis, ca
didn't you essentially just say, "hack me, hack me up the butt, PLEASE?"

i'm not a ntworking savvy person, but....
 
OP
DDR-PIII

DDR-PIII

Disabled
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Location
6p6
himura-dono said:
didn't you essentially just say, "hack me, hack me up the butt, PLEASE?"

i'm not a ntworking savvy person, but....
I highly doubt that can be done :rolleyes:
 
OP
DDR-PIII

DDR-PIII

Disabled
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Location
6p6
himura-dono said:
i'm not a ntworking savvy person, but....

i can tell...because you thinm me gicing that IP ppl can hack haha ;) theres a good one... me and how many other ppl have that for our LAN's :p its not like its modems IP :p
 

RagingGecko

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Actually no he didn't. That's an internal IP, in other words the only thing that would actually refer to that computer with that IP is his router/hub/switch/whatever. In other words, there are probably thousands of computers with that IP, mine included. Its just so the router can distinguish between more than one computer, nobody else can use that IP because its not visible to the web.
 

Mr B

Senior Admin Emeritus
Joined
Dec 28, 2000
Location
East Bridgewater, MA
RagingGecko said:
Actually no he didn't. That's an internal IP, in other words the only thing that would actually refer to that computer with that IP is his router/hub/switch/whatever. In other words, there are probably thousands of computers with that IP, mine included. Its just so the router can distinguish between more than one computer, nobody else can use that IP because its not visible to the web.

Yep. I've got rigs here with similar #'s. (4 rigs networked and Folding). I agree, also...setting some of it up was a PITA....LOL.

Cheers! :beer:

B.
 

RagingGecko

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Lol, I just noticed that I said "in other words" in 2 consecutive sentences. Darn my bad grammer :p