Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 Memory Kit Review

Recently Patriot refreshed its DDR5 memory line with new and much faster products. Due to their kindness, we can present the highest memory kit in Patriot’s offer and the highest reviewed at Overclockers – Viper Xtreme 5, rated at 8000MT/s! The memory kit is designed for the most demanding users, but because of its high frequency, it requires a specific motherboard for full compatibility. It makes it even more elite as only the ASUS APEX motherboard “officially” supports this or any other DDR5-8000+ memory kit on the market.

This review will show you how much you can expect from the Viper Xtreme 5 memory and if it’s a memory series. Let’s not make this introduction any longer as there are more exciting things ahead, so we move to the specifications and features part. Later, we will focus on the performance and overclocking.

 

Specifications and Features

Push your system to the limit with Viper Gaming’s newest high-speed DDR5 DRAM series: the Viper Xtreme 5.
Featuring ridiculously fast speeds of up to 8000MHz and capacities of up to 32GB for select models, the Viper Xtreme 5 is designed to deliver consistent record-breaking performance and overclocking capabilities. With support for three selectable XMP 3.0 overclock profiles, the Viper Xtreme 5 can meet the needs of the most extreme overclockers out there.

Backed by a limited lifetime warranty and built with
best-in-class parts and materials, the Viper Xtreme 5 is 100% hand-tested on the latest Intel DDR5 platform for quality assurance and reliability on high performance to offer peace of mind for all users. Any unsupported platform may need to operate at a lower speed or require manual tuning for stability.

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – Features, Source: Patriot

All the product features come from Patriot, and you can also find them on the product website.

Key Features

  • Enhanced Aesthetics and Superior Quality
    Featuring a unique snake head shape, matte finish coating, and large RGB lightbar, the Viper Xtreme 5 combines strong performance and a truly unique look gamers can’t find anywhere else. Created from high-quality aluminum materials, our heatshield is designed to last and able to go the distance with extreme performance.
  • Higher Frequency Support
    Through improvements to our internal clock generation and memory timing circuits, the Viper Xtreme 5 delivers up to a ridiculous 8000MHz, achieving and supporting the highest data transfer rates and frequencies of any Viper DRAM in our entire catalog.
  • PMIC- Lower Power Consumption
    The Viper Xtreme 5 is designed to operate at higher speeds with lower voltages without generating as much heat. This lower power consumption is possible due to the integrated high-quality PMIC, which creates more room for overclocking without exceeding safe voltages and temperature limits. (Overclocking requires more power, so a high-quality power supply with adequate wattage and stability can help ensure stable and reliable overclocking.)
  • Intel XMP 3.0 Ready
    The Viper Xtreme 5 supports Intel XMP 3.0 Ready overclock profiles.
  • Trustworthy Components
    With On-die ECC, the Viper Xtreme 5 can correct single-bit errors and detect multi-bit errors, ensuring that data integrity, data accuracy and system reliability are maintained in the event of hardware errors or other issues in high-performance environments.
  • Motherboard and Viper exclusive RGB App supported
    The Viper Xtreme 5’s RGB lighting system on the lightbar allows for endless stunning customization options to stand out among other RGB performance memory. With our exclusive Viper RGB Sync, you can easily pair your lighting effects with other devices for a fully cohesive and immersive system.
Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – Features; Source: Patriot

 

Specifications

The tested memory kit contains two memory modules, 16GB each. The total of 32GB is more than enough for gaming, and only in particular titles can more be required. However, a higher capacity is usually needed for more professional work like rendering, graphic or video editing, and more. Even highly demanding gamers will be satisfied with 32GB.

Patriot already highlighted that their RAM has an unlocked PMIC and a thermal pad. As long as the first is already required for higher-speed memory kits, then the second one is great news, as many other brands are not using something as simple and cheap as a thermal pad, and memory modules are overheating at higher voltages. Of course, there is still a voltage limit for the air-cooling solution, but we can be sure that at 1.45V or even 1.50V, our modules will keep total stability without additional active cooling.

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 DDR5-8000 Specifications
Memory TypeDDR5
Capacity32GB (16GBx2)
Multi-Channel KitDual Channel Kit
Tested Speed (XMP/EXPO)8000 MT/tested
Tested Latency (XMP/EXPO)Profile 1: PC5-64000 / 8000MT/s CL38-48-48-84 1.45V
Profile 2: PC5-62400 / 7800MT/s CL38-48-48-84 1.45V
Profile 3: PC5-60800 / 7600MT/s CL36-48-48-84 1.45V
Registered/UnbufferedUnbuffered
Error CheckingNon-ECC
SPD Speed (Default)PC5-44800 5600MT/s CL46-46-46-90 1.10V
Fan IncludedNo
WarrantyLimited Lifetime
FeaturesIntel XMP 3.0 (Extreme Memory Profile) Ready

The highest version of the Viper Xtreme 5 memory has programmed three XMP profiles. The highest is, of course, 8000MT/s, but others are 7800MT/s and 7600MT/s with not much different timings and voltages. This is because of very narrow motherboard compatibility, and as long as most higher series motherboards work with DDR5 up to 7600MT/s, then 7800MT/s or higher is already a problem. The only officially supported motherboard for 8000MT/s memory kits, whether Patriot or other brands, is ASUS Maximus Z790 APEX. We can add MSI MEG Z790 Ace, MSI MPG Z790I Edge, Gigabyte AORUS Z790 Tachyon, and EVGA Z790 Dark Kingpin to this list. This is everything we will find on our market for these top-speed memory kits.

As you can see in my previous RAM reviews, MSI Z790I Edge works up to 8266MT/s but can’t work at any higher speed. On the ASUS APEX, we can make 8400MT/s, which will be our maximum frequency for comparison tests.

The specifications table above shows the SPD speed as DDR5-5600, but our memory kit is recognized with a JEDEC profile at DDR5-4800. The specifications were taken from the product datasheet and should match the retail product. It suggests that depending on the batch, you may expect it to be at both frequencies. Considering that every motherboard runs at both settings, it doesn’t matter much, but the difference is worth mentioning.

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – XMP#1 @8000MT/s

Above is a screenshot from ASUS Mem TweakIt software which shows a list of more essential timings when RAM works at the XMP#1 profile – the rated speed of 8000MT/s. As you can see, this is also on the mentioned MSI MPG Z790I Edge motherboard, which is probably the cheapest option if we wish to use such fast RAM. The same timings will be on other motherboards, and I will tell you more about the ASUS option in the overclocking part of this review.

 

Packaging and Product Photos

Packaging

The memory kit arrived in a clam shell retail package with “windows” on the back to see the memory modules. We won’t find much inside the package, as there are only memory modules and the Viper Gaming logo sticker. On the other hand, we don’t need much for the installation, and memory installation manuals are always with motherboards. I assume that anyone who buys this type of memory already knows how to install it, but of course, there will be users lured by the top frequency who are new to PC building.

I won’t hide that our review sample got some hits during the shipping, and the external package was damaged. The product package hurt too, as you can see on the corners of the box, which are slightly bent. However, the memory kit is in perfect condition, so the first test passed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Above, you can see the Viper Xtreme 5 modules. It’s a brand-new design that looks great, and I like it better than the lower Patriot memory series. I would have liked it to be more extreme. Pictures on the manufacturer’s website show a bit different design, with a sign on the light bar. I prefer light bars to be clean like it is now with the kit we have, so I’m glad it looks this way.

As expected, under the heatsinks are already well-known Hynix A-die memory chips. We also find Richtek PMIC. This combo is the best for overclocking and has the widest motherboard compatibility. Even though not every motherboard will support 8000MT/s memory, most motherboards work with Richtek PMIC and unlock higher voltages. This way, we can still set tighter timings and relatively high frequencies on various popular motherboards.

Test Results

Test Setup
ProcessorIntel i7-13700K (Retail)
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus Z790 APEX
Graphics CardPowerColor RX6800XT Red Devil 16GB
OS StorageSilicon Power XS70 1TB M.2 PCIe 4.0 SSD
Power SupplyCorsair HX1200, 1200W 80+ Platinum
Used Memory KitsADATA XPG Lancer RGB 32GB DDR5-6000 CL40-40-40 1.35V
ADATA XPG Caster RGB 32GB DDR5-6400 CL40-40-40 1.40V
Corsair Vengeance RGB 32GB DDR5-6600 CL32-39-39 1.40V
Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR5-7000 CL34-42-42 1.45V
G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6000 CL30-40-40 1.35V
G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 CL34-42-42 1.45V
Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 CL38-48-48 1.45V
Operating SystemWindows 11 Pro x64 with the latest updates

 

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000

 

Stability at Rated Speed

The XMP profile was tested in AIDA64 System Stability Test and passed without problems.

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – XMP#1 @8000MT/s – AIDA64 Stability Test

The memory kit passed more extended stability tests at XMP settings on ASUS Z790 APEX and MSI Z790I Edge motherboards. There were no problems during various tests, while the main difference is overclocking potential, for which I highly recommend ASUS Maximus Z790 Apex.

Before we start with the comparison tests, here are a couple of test rig photos that present the test environment in which the Viper Extreme 5 was tested. There were no other fans, and the memory kit was fully stable during all tests.

Comparison Tests

Tests were performed on popular synthetic benchmarks and benchmarks included in popular games. The list consists of tests that react well to memory performance. Older popular benchmarks and tests based on pure CPU performance were skipped as we wouldn’t see any difference.

For readers’ convenience, I added the overclocking result for comparison so you see if it’s worth the overclocking.

Benchmarks list includes:

  • AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark
  • PCMark 10 – default benchmark
  • 3DMark: Time Spy, Time Spy Extreme, and Fire Strike Extreme
  • Superposition Benchmark – 8K Optimized
  • Final Fantasy XV Benchmark – 4K High Details
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider – 1080p, high details, default benchmark
  • Far Cry 6 – 1440p, high details, default benchmark
  • Assassin’s Creed Valhalla – 1440p, high details, default benchmark 

 

AIDA64 Cache & Memory Benchmark

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – AIDA64

AIDA64 Memory and Cache Benchmark is probably the most popular software to measure RAM bandwidth and latency. Results are scaling great with memory frequency, and as you can see, we could reach 122GB/s and about 53ns latency at the XMP profile. Overclocking pushed it up to 130GB/s and around 50ns latency. Even though there is a significant difference, then at this frequency, we should focus more on timings and related latency. This is the highest memory bandwidth out-of-the-box we have seen!

PCMark10

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – PCMark 10

PCMark 10 does not react well to memory settings as many more components affect the total score. We can still see that the higher frequency RAM provides better results.

 

3DMark – Time Spy

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – 3DMark Time Spy

3DMark series benchmarks are already showing better results, with a 1000-point difference between the slowest and the fastest RAM kit. The XMP setting of the Viper Xtreme 5 is not far behind the overclocked profile. It suggests that the game platform scaling is already slowing down above DDR5-7000.

 

3DMark – Time Spy Extreme

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – 3DMark Time Spy Extreme

Similar performance scaling is visible in the Time Spy Extreme benchmark, and once more, the Viper Xtreme 5 is the fastest.

 

Unigine Superposition

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – Unigine Superposition

The same in the Superposition benchmark; the results at the XMP profile and overclocked settings are not much different.

 

Final Fantasy XV Benchmark

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – Final Fantasy XV Benchmark

Final Fantasy XV benchmark reacts similarly, with only slightly better results after further overclocking, which suggests that the 8000MT/s is the upper-speed worth considering for daily usage.

 

Shadow Of The Tomb Raider

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – Shadow Of The Tomb Raider

In popular games, the story repeats. If we play at lower display resolutions, which are still very popular due to much higher FPS, we can see a clear boost if we use top-speed RAM. The difference between already standard settings like DDR5-6000 CL40 and DDR5-8000 CL38 is often around 30FPS.

 

Far Cry 6

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – Far Cry 6

In more demanding games or games at a higher display resolution, the performance gain from fast RAM is not so visible but still notable. In our tests, Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 could achieve a similar maximum FPS whether memory was overclocked or ran at the XMP profile.

 

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – Assassin’s Creed Valhalla

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla results give us the same conclusion. The faster RAM helps, and with the latest Intel platform, it’s scaling well, up to at least 8000MT/s. If we wish for a top-performing PC, then even DDR5-8000 seems like a good idea. However, most users won’t see such a high difference worth spending a lot of money. We must remember that as long as RAM prices have significantly dropped in the last few months, we still need expensive motherboards and other components. For most gamers, I recommend something at DDR5-7000, but for those who want the best RAM, Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 DDR5-8000 is a recommended option.

 

Overclocking

Temperatures and Voltages

Patriot Viper Xtreme is one of the best-designed DDR5 memory kits I tested if we look at thermals and stability after overclocking. The memory runs at 1.45V at the XMP profile, which seems high, but the temperatures are even lower than what we could see on 1.35V and 1.40V memory kits. As a reminder, the average temperature under load for most reviewed memory kits rated at 1.35-1.40V was 62-65°C. This is mainly because most brands are not using additional thermal pads for PMIC, while Patriot secured the Viper Xtreme nicely.

During the overclocking tests, we went up to 1.6V, and the temperatures were still acceptable. All that with only a couple of fans on top of the PC case forcing the airflow. It’s a standard setup for modern gaming computers and includes nothing unusual.

If we won’t overclock the memory kit, and use the XMP profiles, then we can count on around 55°C during gaming or more demanding but still mixed load work.

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – Temperatures

I’m not recommending anything above 1.45V for daily overclocking, including games, as the performance gain at tighter timings or higher frequency won’t be apparent. Too high temperatures or voltages may cause random errors, even though memory may pass popular stability tests.

 

DDR5-8400 CL38-47-47-38 1.50V

On our test platform, we could reach the DDR5-8400 at still tight timings of CL38-47-47-38. The required voltage for the DDR5-8400 was 1.50V, which for the tested memory kit, isn’t a problem for daily work without additional airflow. The screenshot with mentioned settings is below. It’s not including additional fine-tuning, so if we spend more time, we can easily pass 130GB/s bandwidth and go below 50ns latency. The same settings randomly show 49.5ns, but the screenshot with such wasn’t saved.

Patriot Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 – OC @8400MT/s

On the other hand, we can expect the same performance as at DDR5-8000/8266 CL34, while these slightly lower frequencies work on more motherboards.

Lower timings are possible at higher voltages, so to run at CL34/36, we have to set 1.55-1.60V VDD/VDDQ. The performance gain is barely visible, even in synthetic tests, so it’s not worth pushing it for anything but competitive benchmarking. For gamers, the XMP profiles are still tremendous and provide optimal performance.

If you are into overclocking, the Viper Xtreme 5 memory will give you a lot of fun. Due to the used IC, it runs excellently at lower or higher frequencies and a wide range of timings. If you are moving between various motherboards, you will find it great to cover multiple settings. It should work great on AMD too, but at lower frequencies and fully manual settings, as XMP profiles are at DDR5-7600 and higher.

If you are into overclocking, share your results on our forums.

 

Conclusion

I had no chance to test any Patriot DDR5 memory before, so I’m even more excited that the first kit in my hands is the Viper Xtreme 5 DDR5-8000. It’s definitely the fastest memory kit I tested, and have no problem recommending it to anyone who wants the best results on the latest Intel platform. You won’t find anything faster in stores if you need fast RAM for gaming, a home workstation, or overclocking. The DDR5-8000 version should be available in the coming days in popular online stores like Amazon for around $339.99, so it’s also cheaper than most competitive memory kits that usually cost about $400-500. Prices are constantly decreasing, so you will find it even cheaper if you are lucky.

There were no problems with the compatibility or stability of the tested memory kit. The main concern for most users is the need for an expensive motherboard, as only a few models will work at 8000MT/s. The list is even more limited if you prefer “official” support as only the ASUS Maximus Z790 APEX currently lists it. This is not Patriot’s fault, but if we decide on a RAM like this, we have to be sure that we have the right environment to make the purchase worth it.

The Viper Xtreme 5 32GB DDR5-8000 is a high-quality RAM that is highly recommended and easily receives our Approved Stamp. I’m sure anyone buying it will have a lot of fun.

 

Click the stamp for an explanation of what this means.

Bartosz Waluk – Woomack

 

 

Related Articles

Loading new replies...

Avatar of unsafesteagle
unsafesteagle

Member

1,642 messages 312 likes