• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

direct-die phase change?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

four4875

im gonna have a custom block milled soon, and its gonna be direct die for sure. im just wantin to know, should it be phase change or water. im wantin phase change, but if its bad for the die or somethin, i wont. i dont see why it would be bad, but then again i AM new to phase change and all... ( iknow the general concepts and the ideas and stuff)

BTW, if i do go with phase change, i'll run the capilary and the gas tubes into a T right at the block, the T facin straight, and the capilart goin straight in jetting on the core. then the hot gas will go up the T and out the side barb thingy. make sence to yall, and what do you think. thanks.

i know that it has to be permanantly epoxied, and im worried that the epoxy wouldnt stand up to the cold, and would leak. and then i would have cooland sprayin into my room, and the compressor would run dry.. im just wonderin if anyone has factual info on the CPU not likin it.

let me guess...you suddenly realized that direct die didn't mean u HAD to have the cpu die touching the coolant?....well i would think for phase change that would be a bit out of the question...it would be harder to implement than water and you would have to count on the fact that the core wouldnt react with the refridgerant....also it would have to be a perfect fit and as tight as possible.

I havent seen a epoxy that will stand the pressure and temperature that you will need. Just use a maze block or make your own. Use silver solder or copper braze to resolder a maze or when making your own block.

a lot has been said on diderct to die phase change, and the general consensus is it wont work, about the closest your gonna get is direct 2 die with a good chiller for teh water.