• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

MSBLAST Worm background information

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Toysnomore

Disabled
Bah... I just had a FIVE PAGE post on the ins and outs of MSBLAST, where it started, and what it's doing. ect. ect. ect...

Power went out and I lost it all LoL!

Info in comming post, please don't reply until I post.

Ok... Straight up. I got banned. Never got an email(guess it when to an old account) No worries. On to the Shot version of the 5 page post from memory.

I'm currently a lvl3 tech support for one of the LARGEST DSL providers in the USA. (you don't get any higher than myself and I did that in six weeks from the date I was HIRED, go me! That's imsane!?)

OK! It seems everyone knows what it uses to move around now. Windows RPC.

Our ISP Has been tracking the worm for the last three days internially, and internially have had reports that are now know to be the worm from the last 5-7 days.

The worm has been traced by ourselves, and severial other Broadband ISP's to OUR backbone, Genuity(largest backbone on the west coast)

Actually, we know the EXACT point where the worm originated from, so if you're reading. Live in fear! We knew that a week ago and Genuity is ****ed!

Anywhos...

How it spreads for dummies.

Routers/Switches/Hubs (RSH from now on) are for this discussion THE SAME THING (stay shut up network savvy people and go along wiht it)

They all support in some way, remote administration. This is how network admins are able to upgrade entire pools of computers and make changes; seemingly at will "easily" (hah yeah right heh)

BECAUSE:
*SOME* Win2K
***ALL*** Win XP
Win 2K3 (we don't know, not enough 2k3 sold for us to do internial testing on it OR track it!)