• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Vista enterprise addition

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Speciale

Disabled
I am a student at the University of Iowa. Like most colleges/universities around the country if not the globe they get to sell windows software at greatly reduced prices. If i were to buy XP it would cost my $6.

I haven't had to buy anything yet which means i will be able to buy office 2007 and Vista when they get it (you can only buy each one once as far as i know). I emailed them to see when those will be available and they said "should be later February" (right around launch time right?). I also asked them which version of Vista it would be and he said "right now it looks like it will most likely be enterprise".

I know there have been a lot of threads on OC.com about the various versions and i checked out MS.com here but I'm still a little unclear as to what this all means. I would love to get a legit copy of Vista for $6 but frankly i don't want a hampered OS and am wondering essentially what all this mumbo-jumbo means in layman's terms. When it comes to computers i can hold my own on the hardware end but the software often eludes me. Any help would be appreciated.

jivetrky said:
That version should be fine. It does not include the Media Center Stuff and a couple of other things, but all of the major stuff is still there.

This shows detailed differences between the versions

http://forums.microsoft.com/TechNet/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=587581&SiteID=17

Thanks for the link!

I don't suppose i'd be able to install media center from my XP media center package that i have???

Otherwise, well heck, i may have to put that spare NF3 mobo and extra case/psu i've got back to use :santa:

Big feature of Enterprise you should be interested in are 2 very special words: VOLUME LICENSE