• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GTX 285 times 2, idle 53c load 76c, need water block cooling recommendations

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jamsde

Registered
Guys I got the CPU liquid cooling installed and it's running great ...
and then I noticed realtemp (total NOOB that I am) listed my GPU's at 75c after 15 mins of Bioshock2... i was like HOLY BLEEP!

Anyway, me thinks I need to get those two guys cooled better or else they may be going bye bye WAY too soon.

Any recommendations on GPU cooling? (Blocks, rads, pumps, res etc..)
My current setup I have a swiftech rad/res combo 120.3 on the back of my case and I have NO idea where the heck i'm going to mount this second rad... maybe i'll drill holes in my desk haha (just kidding)
My initial thought is to go with a better radiator (per conondrum's previous recommendation) like an XSPC rx360, possibly the Swiftech 355P pump and XSPC top you guys like..I'd prefer a full coverage water block for the GPU's... (here's where I really need input, i have NO idea on GPU water blocks)

Another option would be to go with the Swiftech Rad/Res/Pump combo.. 120.3, would it cool those two cards well enough? My goal would be to get them down to 50c under load, not idle. Thoughts and recommendations are appreciated :)
I took pics of my current set up, i'll post some so you can see what i'm dealing with..

And a few more of the case with rad mounted on it, and one of my office just for fun :)

Last edited:
well. you could buy an aftermarket air cooler for your gpu and save some money +_+ i dont know result ofthem but search?.
a 120.3 will be enough to cool 2 of these card - a quad if u want the best temps -
120.3 (swiftech)
mcp 350 + aftermarket pump/top res
+2 gpu block (100-125$) each

Nice! Is it as loud as it looks? :)