Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 63

Thread: Amd64 2800+

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North Carolina

    Amd64 2800+



    ADA2800AEP4AX
    CBAVC 0420TPMW
    9764412E40176

    Currently running 267x9 and mem is at 440mhz. Memory is currently not optimized as I havent messed with ocin mem too much as of yet. 40s in Super Pi, stability tests pending. Rig in sig, and looks like i have a long way to go.

    I am happy that this time, they sent the right processor, the NewCastle, rather than the clawhammer. The hammer capped out at 2.2, while I have yet to find the top for this one.

    Edited for Super Pi update, from 42s to 40!
    Last edited by Buhammot; 08-06-04 at 10:03 PM.

    i5-2500k @4.8ghz@1.5v
    Corsair H60
    Gigabyte GA-z68a-d3h-b3
    G.Skill 2x4gb 12800 DDR3
    Seagate 2x1TB (RAID1)
    Soundblaster X-Fi Plat
    Corsair GS750

  2. #2
    Member Drec's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    cool....thats a decent overclock...is there a point to this thread?

  3. #3

    c(π*199780) Senior Member
    c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile

    Talking

    Ha-ha, the guy's just posting the codes he found on his CPU and sharing with us what it can do, that's always useful.

    Good luck, you're leaving even the most extreme overclocked Barton mobiles in the dust because of 64's superior architecture...

  4. #4
    Member Jess1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The DFI AMD Forum......
    yes nice inicial clocks, especially out of the 2800+ , and is it me, or is that at 1.55 vcore.

    keep us posted, im intersted in knowing the upper limit of the 2800+NC on air

    yes the posting of ones results is very important, if it wasnt for that the world of overclocking wouldnt get to far. it is important that we share anything we learn, or any experiences we have, thats how we learn by experience, and if we all had to learn it own our own then we would all be lost. and that is the point of this thread(as well as manyothers)
    Folding for Team 32

    *Heat*

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    Well, i was typing in the title, and somehow it managed to submit the post. I will see if I can get a mod to change it, or leave it. But Basically I want to know what other people are getting with a 2800+ and what voltages they are running. I, however, know that I cannot tell the CPU temp cause the bios's sensor is way off. But the voltage is supposed to be stock of 1.5v on the cpu. However, It would seem that anything over 2.4ghz is not worth it, cause I get about 10.5k in sandra even after going higher. Can anyone else confirm this?

    i5-2500k @4.8ghz@1.5v
    Corsair H60
    Gigabyte GA-z68a-d3h-b3
    G.Skill 2x4gb 12800 DDR3
    Seagate 2x1TB (RAID1)
    Soundblaster X-Fi Plat
    Corsair GS750

  6. #6
    I need to contact Silversinksam, I WILL BE BANNED ON DEC 1 2004 IF I DO NOT CONTACT SILVERSINKSAM
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    here is mine @1.5

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    superamd, if you go down to 2.3ghz, about what is the sandra score then? But i am also on stock cooling, so I am playing the dangerous game too.

    i5-2500k @4.8ghz@1.5v
    Corsair H60
    Gigabyte GA-z68a-d3h-b3
    G.Skill 2x4gb 12800 DDR3
    Seagate 2x1TB (RAID1)
    Soundblaster X-Fi Plat
    Corsair GS750

  8. #8
    Member Jess1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The DFI AMD Forum......
    Quote Originally Posted by superamd
    here is mine @1.5

    wow that is amazing, at only 1.5vcore?

    im inpressed. what can it do w/ more vcore, you should be ok w/ at least 1.6vcore on stock cooling.
    Folding for Team 32

    *Heat*

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    Well, my mobo overvolts it a bit, but it would seem that I cannot hit 2.5ghz with mine. But still, when the CH was only hittin low 9k overclocked to 2.2, i think it is worth it. But the improvement in games is quite noticeable. Just remember, I am a budget overclocker! Cheap parts all the way!

    i5-2500k @4.8ghz@1.5v
    Corsair H60
    Gigabyte GA-z68a-d3h-b3
    G.Skill 2x4gb 12800 DDR3
    Seagate 2x1TB (RAID1)
    Soundblaster X-Fi Plat
    Corsair GS750

  10. #10
    Member Jess1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The DFI AMD Forum......
    is your ram at 1:1, if so id say that your sandra Rambandwith is rather interesting

    Quote Originally Posted by buhammot
    Just remember, I am a budget overclocker! Cheap parts all the way!
    yeah thats what overclocking is all about.
    For $150 i just about can see a use for AXP-M anymore, i just really wish that the 2800+claws didnt do so bad.
    Folding for Team 32

    *Heat*

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    Yea, I got the NC 2800+ after I RMA'd the CH. But my mem cant handle those speeds... That is over 500mhz! And my stuff is Geil Value PC3200! Either way, my mem benches super sux. Still, I am very happy and would like to see yet more 2800+'s. I know we have more out there.

    i5-2500k @4.8ghz@1.5v
    Corsair H60
    Gigabyte GA-z68a-d3h-b3
    G.Skill 2x4gb 12800 DDR3
    Seagate 2x1TB (RAID1)
    Soundblaster X-Fi Plat
    Corsair GS750

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    I remember they sent you the wrong CH.

    Since it is a 2800+ NC with x9 max multiplier, your FSB (HTT) has to get above 270 MHz to fully maximize the CPU.

    E.g.
    to get 2.5 GHz CPU, FSB = 2500 / 9 = 277.8 MHz
    to get 2.6 GHz CPU, FSB = 2600 / 9 = 288.9 MHz (with better cooling)
    ...

    As a result, if the memory module cannot handle such high bus frequency using 1:1 memory:FSB ratio, the 166:200 or 5:6 ratio would be needed.

    The OCZ EB 3700 would probably be able to do 270 - 280 MHz with 1:1 ratio.

    At 1:1 ratio, the memory divider = 9
    At 5:6 ratio, the memory divider = 11

    With good PC3200/3500 memory, one can try the 5:6 memory:FSB ratio with tighter timing, and should be doable as follows:
    CPU at 2.5 GHz, FSB at 277.8 MHz, memory = 2500 / 11 = 227.3 MHz
    CPU at 2.6 GHz, FSB at 288.9 MHz, memory = 2600 / 11 = 236.4 MHz
    These would probably be the best setup for your current 754 system on air.

    Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
    A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
    A64 Overclocking Result Collection
    Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
    - DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
    - ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
    - ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
    - Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

  13. #13
    Member dreIU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Quote Originally Posted by hitechjb1
    The OCZ EB 3700 would probably be able to do 270 - 280 MHz with 1:1 ratio.
    I would love to see that... mine was having trouble in memtest86 at 250fsb while running at 3.2vdimm. stock timings.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by dreIU
    I would love to see that... mine was having trouble in memtest86 at 250fsb while running at 3.2vdimm. stock timings.
    I don't have hand on experience with the OCZ EB.
    I agree, 270-280 MHz is a stretch without mod and luck. 250 MHz is more achievable in average case.

    Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
    A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
    A64 Overclocking Result Collection
    Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
    - DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
    - ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
    - ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
    - Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    I never had a good mobo for overclocking the memory, so I know that I have yet to find the real cap for that. I will be looking into it further, as I already have this PC3200 runnin at 440mhz ish.I know I had to loosten the timings abit, but the sticks are getting quite warm.

    Help from the memory section will be needed for that stuff, but for now... Doom 3

    i5-2500k @4.8ghz@1.5v
    Corsair H60
    Gigabyte GA-z68a-d3h-b3
    G.Skill 2x4gb 12800 DDR3
    Seagate 2x1TB (RAID1)
    Soundblaster X-Fi Plat
    Corsair GS750

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Since your FSB (HTT) is running in the 260 MHz range and your memory is in the 220 MHz range,
    are you running the memory to FSB at a ratio of 166:200 or 5:6?

    Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
    A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
    A64 Overclocking Result Collection
    Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
    - DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
    - ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
    - ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
    - Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    North Carolina
    The options I have are a theoretical limit of, 100, 133, 166 and 200mhz on the mem. However, this is only if the fsb is 200, so i think it is like a 5:6 ratio.

    i5-2500k @4.8ghz@1.5v
    Corsair H60
    Gigabyte GA-z68a-d3h-b3
    G.Skill 2x4gb 12800 DDR3
    Seagate 2x1TB (RAID1)
    Soundblaster X-Fi Plat
    Corsair GS750

  18. #18
    Member dreIU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Quote Originally Posted by Buhammot
    The options I have are a theoretical limit of, 100, 133, 166 and 200mhz on the mem. However, this is only if the fsb is 200, so i think it is like a 5:6 ratio.

    So... I dont understand how that works... what if your fsb/htt is at someting like 250 and your mem is at 240? what ratio is that, or is that even doable?

  19. #19
    Member Jess1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The DFI AMD Forum......
    Quote Originally Posted by hitechjb1
    no if he had a 166:200 ration in bios, and was runnig 9x250, then the ram would be at "Htt x (cpu multiplier/11)", or in this case, HTT x (9/11)

    250 x (9/11)= 204mhz ram speed

    so you cant have 250HTT and 240 ram would be nice though

    and now he is running 9x269htt, w/ 166/200

    so thats 269 x (9/11) =220mhz ram speed

    BTW hitechjb1, awsome sticky...
    Last edited by jess1313; 08-05-04 at 06:27 PM.
    Folding for Team 32

    *Heat*

  20. #20
    I need to contact Silversinksam, I WILL BE BANNED ON DEC 1 2004 IF I DO NOT CONTACT SILVERSINKSAM
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    my kv8-pro agp/pci locks dont work so I cant go much faster than the screenie without video or sata becoming unstable. Its a shame cause I think this chip could go a lot faster with a better board. I cant believe abit would release a board that doesnt work like advertised. BTW I had to put htt @ 600 (3x multi) to get this speed. the 4x multi ade no post (1080mhz).


Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •