Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered cracker1082's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Chicago

    Should i get the EP-8KDA3j???

    Currently I have an Asus K8V SE Deluxe motherboard, and the overclocking on this sucker just stinks. I got this in the retail bundle from AMD, and that's the only reason i got this motherboard currently. Would the EPOX be a better overclocker than the AMD, do you guys think?

    Any help or advice would be appreciated, as i want to make this purchase soon, possibly tomorrow. Thanks guys.

  2. #2
    Member Odie812's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    I think it would be a better overclocker than ANY via chipset board. If you don't need four SATA ports (8KDA3J has two) or built in firewire support, then the Epox would be a fine choice. I haven't had any issues whatsoever so far. I like its simplicity. My only gripes are the location of the SATA ports (right above the AGP slot), and the lack of holes for mounting any kind of good chipset cooling (I had to use thermal tape).

    Otherwise, it's great!

    Odie

  3. #3
    Registered cracker1082's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Thanks for your response.

    would an Antec TruPower 480W psu be enough?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    I'm getting one. I got the combo also and my epox is on it's way. The asus is an good board, if you just want stock but we wouldn't be hangin' here if we were like that.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by OnDborder
    I'm getting one. I got the combo also and my epox is on it's way. The asus is an good board, if you just want stock but we wouldn't be hangin' here if we were like that.

    Good choice guys. Just remember that the memory timings don't have to be tight like that on the P4 or XP chips.

    Highly recommend A-DATA PC4000. Or if you get it from komusa, get the ones that PC4200, make sure it's A-DATA brand. I hear some good stories for those. I also here nice things about Crucial Balistix and Kingmax PC4000.

    OnDborder....just thought i would ask about your current setup. I just ordered the same combo P4 2.4c with the Abit IS7 board, since i have little knowledge of the P4s, what kind of OCs do you get?

    -D
    Heatware

    System
    * Antec P160 Case
    * TTGI 550W PS
    * Epox 8kda3j
    * A64 3000+ (CG) w/Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
    * 1Gig A-DATA PC4000
    * (2) 40GB WD Hard Drives
    * MSI GF4 Ti4200 128MB

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Sorry for the delay,bucd.. I get @ 5:4 267x12 @1.675, 2.8vdimm, 3.2 very stable..

    Some set ups were able to get results like this for a lower vcore.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  7. #7
    Member marscay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    the 8kda3+ is a good overclocker - can be a bit flaky until you get it setup properly and ive been through 2 boards so far.

    But im currently sitting at 2820 235x12 1:1 3-2-2-10 so it does move along nicely.
    Last edited by marscay; 09-08-04 at 08:36 PM.

  8. #8
    Disabled Nandro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Wherever I happen to be.
    will this MB support the mobile a64?

  9. #9
    Disabled CandymanCan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Woodbridge, Va
    no it doesnt, i havent had any problems with mine, the only thing i gripe about is the newer bios's somereason undervolt the cpu and the board isnt the top overclocker out thier.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •