Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: need stabitity?

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2004

    Question need stabitity?

    I've got a 3.0 prescott thats running at 3.6, but it seems that my computer is moving slower in certain areas? Like when I burn a dvd it seems to be going slower? The temp's are fine 40 at idle and never more than 50 when I ran a burn with sandra. Tried prime95 but it wont run the test it just say's error rounding 4.9999986 and expected less than 4.? What's the deal?

    HELP?

  2. #2
    Jimbob7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Folding Profile
    Any error in prime means the cpu/ram is unstable. Tell us about your system specs, incl Vcore etc.
    PentiumM 725 "Dothan" 1.60GHz @ 2.60GHz, P4C800D, 3850Pro AGP, 3GB OCZ Platinum XTC, Arch Linux
    TDX, Maze4, 120.3, D5, U2-UFO
    Dell E248WFP

    Core2Duo 3GHz, Asus Motherboard, 4GB, Ubuntu-Server 12.10
    Dual Pentium III 600MHz, 512MB, Asus P2B-DS, OpenBSD

    HP ProBook 6360b, Intel i5 3rd Gen 2.60GHz, 8GB, Windows 7

  3. #3
    Member Vflux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    FOLDING
    add a notch of Vcore...If that doesnt work try upping the vdimm...If that doesnt work again the vagp untill the rounding errors dissappear.......


    Use memtest86+ for ram...Loop #5 test for 8hours then dual prime with small fft's and large fft's afterwards.....

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Right now I just put the vcore at 1.4, but cpuz say's it's closer to 1.41 and the fsb is at 247 now running around 3.7. The ram is micron 512 pc3200 ddr 400mhz two sticks running dual chanel. The ratio is 5:4 and the cl latency on the memory is set to 2.5 could go to 3.0? Don't know how to chamge th vdimm but the voltage too the memory is set to 2.75v.

  5. #5
    Member Vflux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    FOLDING
    Try upping the vdimm at 2.85V and Vagp to 1.6V OR 1.7V.....Dont push anymore Vcore unless it errors out on small fft's.........

  6. #6
    Senior Member Know Nuttin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    why would you increase the Vagp?

  7. #7
    Member Vflux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    FOLDING
    Quote Originally Posted by Know Nuttin
    why would you increase the Vagp?
    It helps the tension from the RAM--NB--CPU. If you dont feed power to the NB the data wont flow smoothly to the destination and i might add that the NB also controls the traffic to the southbridge. So it's getting stressed a lot and when it does, it shoots out errors out of the blue. I might be wrong though. But those option through the bios arent there for no reason.

  8. #8
    Member Albuquerque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    North America
    You're not too far off there Vflux, my board won't stabilize at 250FSB without at least 1.6vagp, and it can't pull anything higher than 275 without 1.8vagp.
    Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
    AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
    S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
    4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
    2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
    Mitsumi
    4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
    Magic Color!

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Just tried upping the vagp to 1.6, but didn't up the vdimm because I was told up that high could cuase problems with my memory heating up too much. I dont have any cooling specific to my memory. What do you think? The rounding still has an error.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Tried to up the vdimm to 2.85. still no good?

  11. #11
    Member Vflux's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    FOLDING
    Madheat, So which test on prime95 does it shoots out rounding error?


    To Everyone:Alright lets put an end to this Vagp will kill the graphic card myth!!!

    With all the vmods i've done, this is how i came through with most of my understanding with the help other people as well from other forums.....

    Lets put it this way for the AGP Vddq voltage. e.g. Your graphic card is like your mobo/ram and the PSU 3.3V rail. Just because the PSU is modded to run 3.4V-3.5V it doesnt mean that the ram will also run at 3.4V-3.5V. It will stay within with what you set through the bios. Unless the voltage regulator for vdimm is modded to provide 2.95V or more...

    Same goes to Vagp. Our current graphic cards have their own voltage regulators, which infact is way better than our mobo's. The GPU and Vmem will only go up if theres an added resistance to their voltage regulators and upon lowering them the voltage will rise........

    The Vagp is mostly important while benching 3D and onto 1:1 mode. This is what i just found out lately or using very tight timings. Infact anything that stresses the NB the most, thus you need to bump up the Vagp the most.

    Hopefully i explained this properly correct me if im wrong as i only speculated this theory ontop of my head........

  12. #12
    Member RangerXLT8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Asheville NC
    I had the same problem, my system kinda lagged a little bit. only had a 350w PS so I got a 430w Antec PS and I had no problems.. Theres my 2cents
    Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
    Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
    Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
    ATI HD4870 512MB
    OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
    2x150GB Raptors
    1x320GB Western Digital HDD
    LiteOn DVDRW
    Heatware 44-0-0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •