Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Point OR USA

    5% over clocking lockup?

    When I first got my system together I could adjust it to where ever I wated with little or no problems. I found 5% to be where I left it. Now if I try to even do a 5% it will not load it keeps looping the load screen. If I try to change it to 5% in windows with the Asus Ai booster it locks the whole system and I'm forced to reboot and go back into the bios and reset back to standard with no OC. Anybody have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Member Yuriman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The OCFORUMS
    Is it completly prime/memtest stable at stock? How warm is it?

  3. #3
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Make sure the AGP/PCI is locked to 66/33. Check load temps at default speed.
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Point OR USA
    How would I be able to see the startup temps before they go back down? AT idle the temp seesm to be around 50c and around 70c under prime. I'm not sure how to check the "AGP/PCI is locked to 66/33" . I would guess it's in my Bios I will check that latter. Thanks for the sugestions.

  5. #5

    Inactive Moderator
    g0dM@n's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    20mi W of NYCity, USA
    Doesn't a 5% overclock also overclock your ram? Maybe your ram can't handle 210fsb... that's where I'd put my money. Loosen your ram timings and/or raise the vcore a tad bit to rule some things out. And as batboy said, lock the AGP PCI frequency.
    ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
    Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
    Top 5 Heatware
    **IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
    nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.

  6. #6
    Member Showstoppermd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    hawaii
    If you are using the ai for overclocking then yes it is probably memory settings. Change the memory divider. If i remember correctly its not listed as a ratio but rather 400, 300 or something like that.
    Rig 1 :generic case with modified exos wc
    2.4c@3.4 on asus p4c800
    2*512 muskin lvl II 3500 using 3:2 divider
    radeon 9800 pro < stock timings:\
    vcore 1.6v, vdimm 1.7

    Rig 2:
    4400+ toledo 2.6(260*10)
    asus a8n-sli premium
    2x1gb crucial ballistix tracer pc4000
    antec p-180
    2 xfx 7800gtx sli
    ocz powerstream 600

  7. #7

    Inactive Moderator
    g0dM@n's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    20mi W of NYCity, USA
    Correctomundo. Or do overclocking manually.
    ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
    Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
    Top 5 Heatware
    **IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
    nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Point OR USA
    Quote Originally Posted by batboy
    Make sure the AGP/PCI is locked to 66/33. Check load temps at default speed.

    Ok I checked the AGP/PCI. It was set to auto. I locked ita 66/33 like you said but no change. Thanks for the shot ata it batboy

  9. #9
    Member Showstoppermd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    hawaii
    Found how the ratios will be displayed.
    1:1 = 400
    5:4 = 320
    3:2 = 266
    Rig 1 :generic case with modified exos wc
    2.4c@3.4 on asus p4c800
    2*512 muskin lvl II 3500 using 3:2 divider
    radeon 9800 pro < stock timings:\
    vcore 1.6v, vdimm 1.7

    Rig 2:
    4400+ toledo 2.6(260*10)
    asus a8n-sli premium
    2x1gb crucial ballistix tracer pc4000
    antec p-180
    2 xfx 7800gtx sli
    ocz powerstream 600

  10. #10

    Inactive Moderator
    g0dM@n's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    20mi W of NYCity, USA
    Try the other recommendations as well. When you OC you MUST MUST MUST MUST test the RAM and the CPU separately. One's performance may fool the other's.
    ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
    Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
    Top 5 Heatware
    **IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
    nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Point OR USA
    I'm showing my

    memory at 2.65v
    AGP at 1.60v
    FBS at 801.82
    HT at 1-1
    MHZ at 3006.84
    CPU core at 1.39
    CPU Multiplier 15.0x

    Does any of this help?

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Point OR USA
    Quote Originally Posted by Showstoppermd
    Found how the ratios will be displayed.
    1:1 = 400
    5:4 = 320
    3:2 = 266

    Ok I see what you have there. What should I have?

  13. #13

    Inactive Moderator
    g0dM@n's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    20mi W of NYCity, USA
    Try the 5:4 and see if it makes a difference first. Then you can work your way around from there. If it works with the divider, then that means that your ram was causing the stability issues.
    ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
    Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
    Top 5 Heatware
    **IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
    nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Point OR USA
    Quote Originally Posted by g0dM@n
    Try the other recommendations as well. When you OC you MUST MUST MUST MUST test the RAM and the CPU separately. One's performance may fool the other's.


    How do I test the ram????

  15. #15

    Inactive Moderator
    g0dM@n's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    20mi W of NYCity, USA
    Set the divider to 5:4, and then do your 5% overclock and see if you still have the same problem. Like I said, if you have no problems with 5% overclock with the 5:4 divider, then the problem initially was with your ram; if you don't get any improvements after using the divider, then that means the problem initially was with your CPU (and maybe RAM also).
    ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
    Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
    Top 5 Heatware
    **IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
    nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Point OR USA
    Oh crap! Bad news for the rookie I just lost about three months of stuff on my computer . Don't ask me how cause I can tell ya but it didn't like somthing I did. Oh man that sucks any ideas on how to retrieve my old setup? It dosen even see my d drive anymore. LOL I guess thats what I get for fixing somthing that wasn't broken.

  17. #17

    Inactive Moderator
    g0dM@n's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    20mi W of NYCity, USA
    Hook that hard drive up to a working computer, and you should be fine.

    If for any reason your partitions disappeared then you could use a program called "GET BACK DATA." If you can't find it, then I'll help you when I get back from my trip on Saturday... on my way out right now. Cya.
    ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
    Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
    Top 5 Heatware
    **IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
    nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.

  18. #18
    Member 1cem4n's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    FusoFuso
    Did you try going back to default settings?

    -1cem4n
    HP dv2700t
    Bluetooth
    Webcam
    12-cell battery
    Fingerprint Reader

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Central Point OR USA
    Quote Originally Posted by g0dM@n
    Hook that hard drive up to a working computer, and you should be fine.

    If for any reason your partitions disappeared then you could use a program called "GET BACK DATA." If you can't find it, then I'll help you when I get back from my trip on Saturday... on my way out right now. Cya.


    I hope we all will lower our heads for a moment of silence for my 250gig HD. IT's DOA and less then a year old . This will teach me one thing and that is... backup backup backup! Yep I lost it all like a WW2 plane going down in flames. A shop is trying to recover what they can .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •