Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594

    Best Distro for Inspiron 1300

    Okay, Im looking for the best linux for my laptop. I want full out support for its devices so I wont have to mess with anything. iv tried Ubuntu and it wouldnt even boot up (black screen after clicking start/install) Kubuntu booted but froze up and wouldnt pick up my wireless network card. Freespire wont work either (same issue as ubunutu) but yeah.. Anyone use a inspiron 1300 with linux? and if so.. What distro? Im looking into Fedora right now.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  2. #2
    Member kel_p's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    272
    Quote Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse
    I want full out support for its devices so I wont have to mess with anything.
    This could be a long search..

    Tried Debian?
    http://gholen.blogspot.com/2007/02/d...iron-1300.html
    Seems easy enough..

  3. #3
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    Eh, I hate messing with all that terminal crap.. I dont even know how to open it up little lone use it.. I have to look off another screen to type in the message too.... I dont see why it has to be so complicated.. I mean.. DOS died out like.. 10 years ago. Why keep around all that text command stuff.. Its the 21st Century! I should be able to just click, install, and be happy! XD Yeah.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  4. #4
    Misfit138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    1,399
    Quote Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse
    Okay, Im looking for the best linux for my laptop. I want full out support for its devices so I wont have to mess with anything. iv tried Ubuntu and it wouldnt even boot up (black screen after clicking start/install) Kubuntu booted but froze up and wouldnt pick up my wireless network card. Freespire wont work either (same issue as ubunutu) but yeah.. Anyone use a inspiron 1300 with linux? and if so.. What distro? Im looking into Fedora right now.
    You might be asking too much.
    Support for any one particular piece of hardware, let alone an entire machine with proprietary hardware in it, can't be guaranteed.
    Wifi is an especially hit-or-miss area; many, many different cards and incomplete driver support.
    Ubuntu has pretty good hardware detection/support from what I hear. I would recommend PCLinuxOS, if you can find a download site. Their servers just recently crashed and they're scrambling to find a substitute host. You might also want to try Kanotix, SuSe, Mepis, Mandriva or Frugalware.
    archlinux: Power in simplicity.
    Amiga 1000 microATX mod

  5. #5
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    Well, I am going to try installing Kubuntu since it seemed the best out of all the others iv tried today. Maybe once installed I cant ry that solution to the wireless thing via ethernet. It should work with my onboard LAN id hope. Might as well try the live disk and see if it works with my LAN before I do anything.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  6. #6
    Member JDXNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Québec, Canada Èh?
    Posts
    3,399
    Sabayon worked perfectly on my Inspiron 2200, which is similar to the 1300, every piece of hardware worked right off.

    http://www.sabayonlinux.org/

    Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
    Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
    G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
    | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

    Heatware

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    ihrsetrdr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    just on the edge of civilization, in the Mojave Desert
    Posts
    5,429
    Gentoo 2006 Live CD runs great on my Dell D600; picks up the wireless connection without any heartburn.
    Folding User Stats

    ihrsetrdr aka Tim

    Be strong when you are weak, brave when you are scared, and humble when you are victorious.
    - Unknown

  8. #8
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    ARG! I am on the live Kubuntu cd now, Iv tried installing it 5 times anf it wont work correctly!! I get it up to where its copying files.. then at around 50% the cd rom stops and everything freezes, iv ran the CD check and the cd comes out with no errors.. what gives?

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  9. #9
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    Woot! I got it to install!.. I dont have a real clue how.. but yeah! Im on it now and its on my hard drive!! Now I just have to do that trick to get wireless to work!

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  10. #10
    Misfit138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    1,399
    archlinux: Power in simplicity.
    Amiga 1000 microATX mod

  11. #11
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    Uh.. How do I install stuff? XD I downloaded ndiswrapper and extracted it into my desktop.. but I have no clue of what to do from here.. Imma poke around though..
    edit- Okay.. I got ndiswrapper installed I think from the packager thing.. but I have no clue how to access it now.. little lone use the driver I just downloaded.
    Edit- Okay.. I found a bundle package thingy on the ubuntu site that took care of it! WOO WIRELESS!!
    Last edited by SeasonalEclipse; 04-22-07 at 12:11 AM.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  12. #12
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    Okay, I rebooted the wireless doesnt work. So im trying the ndiswrapper thing
    http://www.linux-laptop.net/hosted/d...0-kubuntu.html

    It says I can use the driver from the dell site. but I cant.. it says it has to be a inf. file or some crap when I try using it in ndis.. Any help?

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •