Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    Windows 7 x64 compatible Ram Disk?

    As the title. I can't seem to find a decent proggie that works with 7 x64. Hoping someone's done some legwork here. Yes I am lazy, I did google it though...many times in many ways. I tried a few different proggies, but most wouldn't install, the couple that did(old) wouldn't function.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  2. #2
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by TimoneX View Post
    As the title. I can't seem to find a decent proggie that works with 7 x64. Hoping someone's done some legwork here. Yes I am lazy, I did google it though...many times in many ways. I tried a few different proggies, but most wouldn't install, the couple that did(old) wouldn't function.
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=25139 I was told this workz wiff win7 and 64

  3. #3
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by gomerpile View Post
    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=25139 I was told this workz wiff win7 and 64
    From what I can tell, that just mounts drives, that isn't what he is looking for.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  4. #4
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    From what I can tell, that just mounts drives, that isn't what he is looking for.
    If I'm not mistaking ram drive software is slowly being fazed out with Image drive, Nero had ram drive in this software but that too been replaced with Image drive.
    I could be wrong, unless you want to take some of your ram and make a ram drive. batch file script will do that.

  5. #5
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by gomerpile View Post
    I could be wrong, unless you want to take some of your ram and make a ram drive. batch file script will do that.
    There is no Windows built in one. Well, there is, but you wouldn't be able to store anything worthwhile on it.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  6. #6
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    There is no Windows built in one. Well, there is, but you wouldn't be able to store anything worthwhile on it.
    Its called shadowcopy service same thing as way back the dos command of shadow

  7. #7
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Your looking for software to take certian amout of disk to = ram right. Image drive does that too. PowerISO I hear work. Like your virtual memory.

  8. #8
    Yeah I'm already running elaborate byte's clonedrive.

    I know they're not as popular as they once were, but I sill want one to fiddle with. Ramdisk plus works for vista x64, but refuses to install under 7 unfortunately. I'd rather not mess with dos scripts, but I guess if that's the only option...

    Thanx for the input guys. At least firefox makes it easy to move it's cache to ram.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  9. #9
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by gomerpile View Post
    Its called shadowcopy service same thing as way back the dos command of shadow
    Unless I'm misunderstanding what the OP wants, that just makes a copy of files so that you can back them up; that isn't what he wants.

    EDIT: According to the first post, he wants a RAM drive. From what you guys are talking about, you want a virtual drive to mount images?
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  10. #10
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Just want to mention I too am having some install issues with window7 and image/ram drive software

  11. #11
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    have you tried any virtual memory mangers or agents

  12. #12
    Nope not yet. My intent is simply to decrease the number of small file writes to an inexpensive SSD array by caching more data to ram. I've run through and disabled indexing service, defragging, set pagefile to 200 initial and max, and initially I disabled superfetch and cleared the cache, but it didn't seem to hurt anything to have it on, so I set it to fetching only boot files. As I said I moved FF's cache to ram and things are pretty smooth. At this point I think it's just a tinkerfest, but it's a ridiculously cold snowy day in MI and well...this is *THE* thing to be doing just now.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  13. #13
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    the good old days when it was easy
    DOS=HIGH,UMB
    DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
    DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE NOEMS
    anyways theres some good information and codes/scripts available that may be just what your looking for. Search for virtual memory scripts/c++codes MS is offering a suite of stuff that can make your programing of this easy.
    I'm in the same vote waiting for winter to end to get back to work.

  14. #14
    I dunno I recall some pretty annoying fights with software whilst trying to free up enough of that precious 640k to get a program to run. The good old days weren't always good. Don't miss DOS much.

    Thanks, I'll look around!
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  15. #15
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Im testing the beta out now and it would be something you would be looking
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ent...cts/med-v.aspx

  16. #16
    Inactive Pokémon Moderator JigPu's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Ahh, RAMDRIVE.SYS

    It'd be helpful to have a list of software that you've tried and known not to work so that I can better scour the tubes In the past I've used both Q-Soft Ramdisk and "ramdisk" (both claiming to be at least Vista compatible) with pretty good luck. There is also Cenatek Ramdisk (the page looks broken, but the download page is up), and SuperSpeed RamDisk 9.

    JigPu
    .... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
    .... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
    2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
    .... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
    .... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
    .... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
    .... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


    "In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
    "GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.

  17. #17
    Unfortunately none of them seem to be compatible with WIN7 x64. I'll keep fiddling with them.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  18. #18
    I increased the NTFS filesystem cache and it seems to be using ALL available memory effectively now. This is all I was really looking for. Thanx for the input guys!
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  19. #19
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by TimoneX View Post
    As the title. I can't seem to find a decent proggie that works with 7 x64. Hoping someone's done some legwork here. Yes I am lazy, I did google it though...many times in many ways. I tried a few different proggies, but most wouldn't install, the couple that did(old) wouldn't function.
    http://members.fortunecity.com/ramdi...ramdiskent.htm

    Works on my Windows 7 Ultimate x64

    The program costs, though I am not sure if it is 1 set price (it is listed as forced donation, with implied cost, and I dont know if you can donate less). I figure it is worth the price (12$ suggested for 64bit no support, 25$ suggested for 64bit with support and free updates) because of all the tools and functionality it comes with. It is loaded as a driver/service, so you get the ram drive before windows logs in or creates/uses swap file.

    I personally use it for my page file, so that windows is using my physical ram whether it wants to or not Since once you have 4GB or more, you can easily allocate 1-2GB to ram drive, and have a page file sitting on ram drive.

    RMSe17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •