• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking an i5 2500k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Louiskline

Registered
So I'm very new to overclocking, and I've been looking at guides for around an hour. I'm not confident in any one i have found so i was hoping to be pointed in the right direction here. i have an i5 2500k processor and a Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3 Motherboard. I don't know how to check how good my fans are, but they seem pretty basic. Thanks

Louiskline, welcome to the forum. This is a pretty easy guide to follow. What are you cooling the Cpu with, is it the stock heatsink?

I have the same motherboard and it overclocks great my last CPU did 5.0 GHz. We need to know what cooling you have for the CPU.

I attached a picture of the fan/heat sink. I should probably clean my computer out though haha. here is a link too: Edit: here are my other fans i have in the system as well. i don't know if they matter as much. the fourth image is the back of the third image on the back of the computer.

Last edited:
Louis please host the pictures to the forum here is how. I could only see one picture and that was of the graphics card, which has a fan on it.

all of my pictures exceed the size limit, and i don't know how to make them smaller. i forgot to post the second link in my last post. here are both of the imgur links, if they still don't work i'll figure the size problem out.
Open them in microsoft paint and resize them. That way they don't become dead pics eventually and maybe some one else can benefit from them.

Alright, i didn't know they would become dead links. sorry. i also just cleaned everything, so just assume it would be running without all the dust

IMG_0079.JPG

IMG_0081.JPG

IMG_0082.JPG

IMG_0083.JPG

IMG_0084.JPG