• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Contemplating building a "small" home server

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rpjkw11

We have 2 desktops, 3 laptops, 1 tablet, 2 "dumb" cell phones, and 2 cameras. This is the first time I've seriously considered a home server/NAS so I need to learn the rudiments, like total newbie (which is what I am).

We're sharing more and more data, 99% pics, between our PCs. In the past, simply connecting a camera to a computer in order to upload pics has worked OK. But we're taking more pics these days and it would sure be nice to upload once and share with each PC. I have all the components except the HHDs, case, and PSU. I'd prefer to keep costs below $500 usd if possible.

As I understand it, a home server is the best (only?) way to go. So several questions are in order:

1) How much HDD storage is recommended? We do not stream movies, videos, or music. I'm a serious Western Digital fan.
2) What software is needed/ recommended? I would like free software, or at least inexpensive. I think MSFT wants like $100.
3) Is a server setup with wi-fi connections like our laptops, or would I have to run cables?
4) There other things I have to be aware of, so it'll help if ya'll have an Aunt Claire Voyant?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

Bob

you can do it multiple ways there is free nas software out there or you can just install a windows os on it and share the drives.

personally i would wire it to a router wireless things like the tablet and laptops can connect to the router wirelessly but ideally you want your server to be wired as even the fastest wifi is still no match for the fastest wired.