• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bootable CD....Burn Image or Data

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

whiterabbit391

Registered
I am trying to put windows xp on an old computer, which had to have the hard drive replaced.
It seems that the bios does not have a USB option and will only boot from hard drive or CD, since hard drive is wiped, my only option is to create a bootable CD, which I have no experience with.
SO.....

I got the most popular windows XP ISO,

when burning it to a CD, the burning program asked me to burn the Data, or the Image.

My instinct was data, but i decided to burn the image.

the computer doesn't react at all to it.

Should I burn the data ? Just wanted to make sure before I waste another CD......

Last edited by a moderator:
Getting an actual operating system from an unknown source exposes you to risk of already inserted malware into the operating system itself from the moment you install it.
Having said that, you may need to make sure that AHCI drivers are inserted into the iso and that iso is bootable.

well I'm not too concerned about the welfare of the computer as far as malware goes,
it's a rescue operation, on an otherwise dead computer.

that is of course depending on what kind of malware it is.....

In any case, I was able to get into the bios and change the boot order, and it booted from the .iso image disc, but not the one that I burned the data on.

Learning things the hard way........

If I get it up and running, I'll try to find someone with a known legitimate copy of XP.

It's my parents computer and that's what they're used to......