• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build - "SteamdrivN" - X99-Deluxe3.1USB - First Ever Loop :-)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

G5

Registered
New Build - "SteamdrivN" - X99-Deluxe3.1USB - First Ever Loop :)

Build Log – First ever custom water cooled loop: "STEAMdrivN"

G’day all,

My new build is underway and is going to be my first ever water cooled project. As I'm a complete novice with water cooling I thought I should do a build log to record the project and post it here to hopefully gain any help or guidance available from the many experienced builders who have much, much experience and knowledge in such things :salute:. I definitely started by reading the water cooling sticky and watching a boat load of "water cooling - how to" YouTube.

Unfortunately my current Core i7-920 has seen better days and is finally going to get a well-deserved and long overdue retirement. The Case, MOBO, 12Gb of RAM and the 1500w PSU are all still good and so I intend to convert those into a freeNAS system sometime next year. My current system, like my previous ones, has had to provide a mix of mainly work, (word processing and spread sheeting etc.) data management (record keeping both personal and professional) and a little entertainment (Flight Sims, 4X and Action RPG type games like Skyrim and Fallout) and the new build will be no different.

I am still working through the final pieces of the parts list, however; the “minister of finance” :p has agreed to a fairly workable budget so that I can finally play Skyrim with full Project Stability and Maximum Graphic mods, I’m also trying to build a few years of future proofing into the new system, in both the work and entertainment areas.