Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

forgotten windows xp login PW

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-12, 05:19 PM Thread Starter   #1
Metlcub



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mickleton NJ

 
forgotten windows xp login PW


My sister went on vacation, came home and forgets her user info to get in WIN XP. I've tried admin admin but that didnt work, is there another way you to get in windows and reset her PW?

__________________
Mobo ASRock z77 Extreem4
CPU i7-2600k @ 4.2 1.20v
CPU HS/F Corsair H-100
RAM Corsair Veng 12gig DDR3-1600
GPU EVGA 760 SC Acx
Storage 2tb HDD
DVD Samsung BD/DVD/CD
Inputs Logitech G510 and G700
Sound Sb X-Fi titanium , TB DX12
Case Haf X Advanced
PSU TT TR2 RX 750w
My Heatware
Metlcub is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 05:59 PM   #2
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
There are downloable bootable disk images (or USB) that you can run to reset the password. I do not recall the name right now but

Admin with NO PASSWORD is usually the default not admin admin

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 06:36 PM   #3
Realee
loss.jpg
Premium Member #25

 
Realee's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2011

 
Ultimate Boot CD has a load of tools on it.
I've used it on corporate machines that I've locked myself out of (After removing the machine from the Domain) and it works.

I'm not sure if it's going to end up in a grey area if I explain the tools but Ultimate Boot CD will do what you need (And much... MUCH more)

__________________
I.M.O.G. Because Australia. ;)
Realee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 06:38 PM   #4
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Yeah, we can't really discuss it beyond that -- sorry.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-12, 11:37 PM Thread Starter   #5
Metlcub



Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mickleton NJ

 
Oh ok, yea my sister is mad, she's like Just reinstall if you got to, but I need all my kids pictures etc on it.. I'll work on it tomorrow.

__________________
Mobo ASRock z77 Extreem4
CPU i7-2600k @ 4.2 1.20v
CPU HS/F Corsair H-100
RAM Corsair Veng 12gig DDR3-1600
GPU EVGA 760 SC Acx
Storage 2tb HDD
DVD Samsung BD/DVD/CD
Inputs Logitech G510 and G700
Sound Sb X-Fi titanium , TB DX12
Case Haf X Advanced
PSU TT TR2 RX 750w
My Heatware
Metlcub is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 01:33 AM   #6
Realee
loss.jpg
Premium Member #25

 
Realee's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2011

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metlcub View Post
Oh ok, yea my sister is mad, she's like Just reinstall if you got to, but I need all my kids pictures etc on it.. I'll work on it tomorrow.
If you only need the data you can always take the hard drive out and put it in another working computer. Chances are the home folders won't be encrypted (You would have to do more than put a password on it being Windows XP) so you can just backup the data and put it back after a reload.

I like to reload my machines every 12 months at the latest just to keep them "fresh" it could be a good chance for your sisters machine too.

__________________
I.M.O.G. Because Australia. ;)
Realee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 02:53 AM   #7
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Realee View Post
If you only need the data you can always take the hard drive out and put it in another working computer. Chances are the home folders won't be encrypted (You would have to do more than put a password on it being Windows XP) so you can just backup the data and put it back after a reload.
+1. There should not be a reason that at the very least the data won't be recoverable with a minimal amount of effort. You could even boot with a Linux live CD distro and most likely the Windows partition will be automatically mounted at boot and you could copy any data she needs to an external USB drive or something like that if you don't feel like fiddling around with moving the HDD over to another machine.

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 08:05 AM   #8
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3
First Responders

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
For future damage prevention, create an administrator account on the system with a password that you know. In case this happens again, you can easily reset it without reinstalling.

I do this for every family/friend computer I work on, for that exact reason. I explain exactly why I'm doing it, as well.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 09:54 AM   #9
EGutierrez91
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2008

 
You can use "Offline NT Password and Registry Editor." Burn the file to a disc, and run it on the PC, it will let you remove or change the password.

__________________
Case: Xigmatek ASGARD II || CPU: i5-2500k (Stock at 3.3GHz) || MoBo: BIOSTAR TZ68A+ || PSU: Antec EarthWatts 430W 80+ BRONZE || GPU: XFX Double D Radeon 6870 1GB || RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
EGutierrez91 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Thanks!
Neuromancer (05-14-12)
Old 05-09-12, 10:45 AM   #10
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Aren't the default Administrator credentials "Administrator" with no password? That's what I remember using. Painfully easy to "break in" to XP, by the way.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-12, 11:14 AM   #11
Seebs
Fronting as a Mod Member

 
Seebs's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sunshine State

 
^^^^ This...

It's case sensitive so the capital A is needed.

If that fails...
- Google-Fu -> CIA Commander
- Download the iso
- Burn to CD or USB jumpdrive
- Boot from said device
- Overwrite the forgotten password with whatever you want
- Boot to XP and login with the new password

__________________
Daily Driver: GA-890FXA-UD5 - Ph II X6 1090T - 16GB DDR3 1333MHz - MSI R9 280X Gaming Edition/HD 5670/HD6570 - Venomous X Black + G1238B12BBZP-00 - TX850V2 - CM 690 II Advanced
Join the "Benching Team" - We have secret sauce! - OptyTrooper: GPUs are for burning not playing games anyway
Kona on League of Legends: This game sits about as well with me as a gallon of prune juice does, and the results are just as nasty.
I done got Pinked...

Be sure to pre-tin everything (even soldered stuff!) with leaded solder. None of the RoHS junk. You want good old fashioned toxic heavy metals. ~ Bobnova
Seebs is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-12, 09:03 PM   #12
realmadrid12

 
realmadrid12's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Long Island, NY

 
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dECTfBOUksE

You could also do it by mounting the registry hive and doing it manually. But UBD is much easier.

We use this at work when encryption breaks from root kits. I wouldnt call this a "grey" area because this is knowledge that can be used for good. And save someones data if they dont understand how windows works completely. Hes working on his own computer.

__________________

Main Rig: Intel 4770k - Asus Formula VI - GSkill Sniper 1866 16gb - Corsair AX850 - EVGA 780ti SC - Custom WC loop

Spare Rig: AMD 1090T at 4.1ghz - Asus Crosshair V - GSkill 1600 8gb - Corsair AX850 - Asus 6950 (Crossfire) - Custom WC loop
realmadrid12 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-12, 10:25 PM   #13
Realee
loss.jpg
Premium Member #25

 
Realee's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2011

 
The Grey area comes in because even though in THIS case the OP owns the computer - many visitors to the site may not.

Most members past the first few posts can be trusted but I would bet my bottom dollar there's a whoooooooole lot of guests that come past and see things like this.


That said - the information is solid =)

__________________
I.M.O.G. Because Australia. ;)
Realee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-12, 10:36 PM   #14
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
ITs not a grey area unless you post tools that allow you to BYPASS the password requirement (also easy to do)

Resetting the admin password (and yes on home package PC cases usually is Administrator with no password) is NOT a "hack" it is a recovery tool.

Not a grey area at all IMHO. If the PTB say I am wrong so be it. It has been discussed here before and not disapproved though.


EDIT: Here a couple of threads (XP password reset does not pop up very much anymore since its outdated but...) Note that senior members or higher were providing help in the situation. Lets not get into the keylogging and encryption bypassing threads I found in these search results.

If we are going to take the "moral" (not that it is immoral to reset an admin password) high road and say doing something NOT illegal is wrong on the forums as far as computers are concerned then we have to revisit a LOT of things the forums do allow discussion of (like keylogging a computer you own but others use)

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s....php?t=699379&
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s....php?t=688386&

FYI with a technet/MSDN account Microsoft provides a tool to reset admin password as well. Its mentioned in one of the threads I found

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

Last edited by Neuromancer; 05-14-12 at 10:51 PM.
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?