Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Will my current PSU be enough?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-12, 06:43 PM Thread Starter   #1
Mike Da Yooper
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2011

 
Will my current PSU be enough?


Hi! I have some new pc parts coming on Tuesday and I didn't think when I bought them that I may not have enough power. I am a longtime builder and I ususally just buy a much bigger power supply than I need to compensate for not really knowing how to add up voltages and stuff(I am TERRIBLE at math). I currently have an Apevia 650w psu, you can find it here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148041

It is about 9 months old but its working great. I know many folks have had issues with Apevia but I've owned 3 of them now in the past like 4 or 5 years and they all have worked amazingly.

So anyway I am building a new mutt pc using parts from this old one. here is what my new pc will have inside:

Mobo: ASRock 990FX Extreme 3
CPU: AMD FX-4170 4.2ghz
RAM: 8gb(2x4gb) Gskill Ares
Video: Radeon HD 6950 2gb
HDD: 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm

Basically the only thing that I am changing is I am upgrading from an Athlon II X-4 635 2.9ghz to an FX-4170. I am also upgrading from 1333 ram to 1866 ram, same amount and brand and type though. Well the stuff I have is Ripjaws and the new stuff is Ares but other than that very close. Oh yeah and the mobo. My current one is a Gigabyte MA770t-UD3. You can find it here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128451


So basically, will my current PSU be enough to power the new stuff? Also I had one more question. it is regarding the hard drive. I don't really know much about SATA and all that stuff, I just plug stuff in lol. Anyway upon looking I noticed that the new mobo I am buying as SATA 6gb/s and my hard drive is only 3gb/s. I am assuming that it will still work fine right? I mean its not like the hard drive is ever coming close to those speeds anyway no?
Mike Da Yooper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-12, 06:53 PM   #2
Twiggz
Member

 
Twiggz's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arkansas

 
Yes, that is enough power, you could probably power that just fine with 500W. Also SATA drives are backwards and forwards compatibile. So that HDD should work fine.

__________________
---Desktop---
i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

---Media Server---
Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu
Twiggz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-12, 07:23 PM   #3
Bobnova
Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
*IF* that PSU can actually put out its rated power, you're fine.
Apevia has a rather bad (read: really lousy) reputation for exploding and killing hardware.

I would replace it at the earliest opportunity just on spec.

That said, your new CPU doesn't draw that much more than your old one, so if it was working before the odds are okish that it will continue to do so.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)

Thinking about an Asus motherboard? Think again.

How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-11-12, 07:28 PM   #4
Twiggz
Member

 
Twiggz's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Arkansas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
*IF* that PSU can actually put out its rated power, you're fine.
Apevia has a rather bad (read: really lousy) reputation for exploding and killing hardware.

I would replace it at the earliest opportunity just on spec.

That said, your new CPU doesn't draw that much more than your old one, so if it was working before the odds are okish that it will continue to do so.
I was thinking about that, but didn't put much thought into it because he said it works well.

__________________
---Desktop---
i5 4670K - ASRock Z87M Extreme 4 - 8GB PC-2400 - Seasonic 750W M12II Bronze - 124GB Crucial M4 2TB WD Green - HD 4600 - Win 8.1

---Media Server---
Q6600 - G31M-S2L - 4GB DDR2 - Rosewill 750W - 80GB WD 2x1TB Seagate Raid0 - OnBoard Video - XBMCbuntu
Twiggz is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?