• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

So I'm building a desktop gaming PC..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sortajan

Registered
It's my first build. I have the parts picked out and everything seems okay, but I was hoping to get some more opinions on whether or not I'm completely wasting money here, or if one dodgy part is going to harm or hold back the rest of the parts.

http://pcpartpicker.com/user/sortajan/saved/jXgzK8

I'm definitely operating on a budget and I'd prefer to stay in the $1,000-1,300 USD range.. I just want to make sure it's a reasonably capable gaming build.

I appreciate any advice. I'm trying really hard to avoid making any avoidable mistakes.

With the mother board you have I would spend the extra $20 and get the 4670k, if you have no intent on any overclocking then you could go with a cheaper board and maybe upgrade to a GTX770

Give this a look: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/T6bPgs

I added the 4690K, since you had an overclocking board but a locked CPU.
I changed to a cheaper, but equally spec'd motherboard.
Got faster RAM for the same price.
Worked in the 840 EVO 240GB instead of the 120GB.
Picked a case with better airflow.
Dropped the PSU 100W, 550W is still a lot of overkill for this rig.
Switched to Windows 8, as Windows 7 won't support DX12.

Give this a look: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/T6bPgs

I added the 4690K, since you had an overclocking board but a locked CPU.
I changed to a cheaper, but equally spec'd motherboard.
Got faster RAM for the same price.
Worked in the 840 EVO 240GB instead of the 120GB.
Picked a case with better airflow.
Dropped the PSU 100W, 550W is still a lot of overkill for this rig.
Switched to Windows 8, as Windows 7 won't support DX12.
I like this build Atmin.

Though for $10.00 more I'd get this Gpu