• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with insulateing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

billyzbear

I'm new to water cooling. I stuck a trash case inside a mini fridge and put the cold plate in it. I then pumped the water to my cpu. I put silicone all around the socket. I glued closed cell foam to the water block enough to where it became flush with the motherboard. I filled the inside socket with silicone and put foam on top of that. The back also got silicone and foam and dielectric grease in the socket for cpu. It worked for all of 5-10 min. and then stopped. No post nothing. I pulled it all apart and found on top of the cpu was a little damp. This is with my back up 1.0 t-bird and ecs board. The water is about 20f. What did I not do correctly? Is there a better way? I don't want to give up but I don't want to toast my good rig.
Billy

WELCOME TO THE FORUMS

That condensation prevention method sounds alright. But this cold plate immersed in cold water idea has a problem.

The warm water coming from the water block on the CPU will pass through the water block inside the fridge very quickly. Too quickly to transfer a good deal of it's heat, I imagine. A better design would be to have a radiator and fan inside the fridge, or the container of water with the pump inside it, circulating cold water from the container, to the CPU, then back to sit in the container for a while to be chilled again.

No POST, but do you get pre-POST beep codes?

Also, did you follow a procedure close to this when you condensation proofed? It sounds like you did, but I'm just making sure I read you right.