• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what's the difference between water cool and phrase charge??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LandShark

Super Shark Moderator
i'm new in "super cooling". did all my machines in air cool since day one. now, i'm looking into the next step of cooling. and i'm wondering what's the difference between water cool, and phrase charge? i know what they r, but performance wise, which is better?? pro/con? (i'm think a phrase charge would be better?)

since it's my first try, i'm looking for a complete kit/case solution. currently thinking:
water cool: koolance
phrase charge: vaporchill

Hey LS;)

Water Cooling: replaces the heatsink/fan with a water block- water is pumped from the block to a radiator where it is cooled, and then back to the water block. Due to water's better thermal efficiency, it is much easier to get lower cpu temps with a water-cooled pc. Water cooling also makes it easier to add water chillers(usually a small fridge or freezer used to drop the coolant temps below ambient) or Pelts.

Phase Change: uses refrigeration equipment to directly cool the cpu core. Very effective and very expensive! Turnkey Phase Change is around $500 and up I believe.....
It can be done by you as a custom Phase Change, but you have to learn how to be a Refrigeration Technician!

Koolance is just one of many water cooled cases on the market at this point: Swiftech makes one too and there are some others as well. Pre-built cases make things easy, but costly. You can also but kits you put in your own case, or pick your own components and "homebrew" a rig.

Vapochill is also not the only game in town for phase change: Prometia is around and apparently an excellent unit.

tks Doug!