• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I need P4 advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kevmarks

ok, I am new to intel stuff. The last intel I had was a 600 Mhz celeron. Ever since then I have been AMD.

I am putting together an Intel P4 rig. The current rig is a dual Athlon MP.

1, I want to use the 2100 DDR memory from the old dual board in
the new Intel rig. What is the fastest / most reliable chipset to
do this with?

2, Will 2100 memory take me very far? It is 512 mb of samsung
2100 in 2x256 dimms. Will this be maxed out at 533?

3, Chip and motherboard recomendations. I am looking at the
MSI and the Asus. Also looking at a 2.2.

Anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance for the help guys.

i would definately say to get new mem, the 2100 is too slow.:( if you go with the ddr, 845 chipset, get a asus p4b533 board or the new p4pe ddr board. i would also stay away from the 2.2 chip. best chip to ge it going to be 1.8a or 2.a chip, or if you can wait, any chip with the new c1 stepping, as they will all most all be good overclockers

If you're hellbent on using that old ram, maybe you could wait a while for dual channel DDR boards. That way you can at least still reap some performance out of that material. But I agree with jdmcnudgent that it would be better to buy new stuff. How about Rambus? =D

Actually, that PC2100 RAM will probably work ok with a P-4 2.2 since the memory is rated for 133 FSB (if you use a 1:1 memory ratio). You probably won't get a 2.2 CPU much above 133 FSB anyway (probably a little less). The reason JD is suggesting better RAM is that most folks like to run the memory at a higher speed like 4:5 ratio for a little better performance and bandwidth.

whats the difference between a 1.8 and a 1.8a?