Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

quad bank memory?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-02, 02:25 AM Thread Starter   #1
unwrittenLaw
Member

 
unwrittenLaw's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego

 
Question quad bank memory?


has anyone heard of this new technology? i read a little about it and they said it will be better than ddr-II..not sure though..
unwrittenLaw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 02:26 AM Thread Starter   #2
unwrittenLaw
Member

 
unwrittenLaw's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Diego

 
correction, its called quad band memory...
unwrittenLaw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 02:51 AM   #3
NookieN
Member

 
NookieN's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The West

 
Did a google search on it and the second hit is for the QBM alliance: www.quadbandmemory.com.

It looks like they're basically doing the same thing on a memory bus as the current P4 front side bus. They transfer 4-bits per clock cycle as opposed to 1 in sdram or 2 in ddr-sdram (I could give technical details, but you can find those at the site above).

It sounds good, but I don't know if it will be as reliable as they say it will. According to their faq, the first chipsets that support it will be delivered by SiS and VIA -- and it wouldn't surprise me if it takes them a couple tries to get it right.
NookieN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 09:04 AM   #4
ninthebin
Member

 
ninthebin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Liverpool, UK

 
its cos its dual channel ddr aint it?

it cant be QDR cos it doesnt technically do 4 instructions per clock...but rather QBM cos in a way it is
ninthebin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 03:01 PM   #5
NookieN
Member

 
NookieN's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The West

 
Quote:
Originally posted by ninthebin
its cos its dual channel ddr aint it?

it cant be QDR cos it doesnt technically do 4 instructions per clock...but rather QBM cos in a way it is
No dual channel is 4-bank memory. It's 128-bits wide, while single channel is 64, but runs at the same speed and thus is twice as fast.

QBM looks like it really does transfer 4 bits per clock along a 64 bit bus. I suppose they could have called it 'QDR'. But since the mechanism is a little different than DDR maybe they figured QBM is a better name.
NookieN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-17-02, 04:08 PM   #6
Flashfx2
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
here is a link with some more info
http://anandtech.com/chipsets/showdoc.html?i=1709
Flashfx2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?