• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SBC Yahoo! DSL

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Illah

So what do you guys think? I have and have had the original SBC DSL. I like it, it's fast and all that. I now have the option to 'upgrade' for free, and it does have alot of cool things. Free webspace for pics, like 150 megs, then expanded Yahoo! mail features (my girlfriend and I both have our primary email at a yahoo.com address, they have GREAT webmail), and a whole buch of other perks.

Thing is, it also sounds like a step towards AOL-land and not so much the 'real' internet...

What do you guys think?

--Illah

well, I've been using road runner for the last 2 yrs, and recently tried SBC DSL in my area ... it really slow compared to my cable .. but dunno about the quality of DSL line on your area .. try it first, if it's faster, keep it, if it's not, keep your old SBC DSL :)

The line stays the same, what changes is I get SBC Yahoo! DSL perks. I just want to know if the perks come with a price like Yahoo IM or some other crap I don't want.

Anyone else?

--Illah

oops :) .. i guess you're right .. i didn't read the post careful enough .. that's what happened when you answer other people's questions at 4 am .. lol :D

well, 150Mb webspace alone for free doesn't sound so bad :) ..

Their PPoE software completely sucks and is a real pain. I worked in their IT dept. for all of a week and a half when I moved back from CA and thendecided to leave...I had seen enough.

I don't know how it is in your area, but where I am (I believe I supported most of the E. US, though) it was horrid.